Good Dog Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made these as a Christmas treat for the wonderful puppies in my life. 4 dogs tested, and all approved. While 2 will eat anything you put in front of them, obviously they gobbled theirs up right away, the other two are very picky. My picky eaters, we're very hesitant at first, but once they tried them, they couldn't get enough! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Carsten
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I decided to make these treats for all the family dogs for Christmas. I was going to double the recipe since I had 8 tins to fill, but I'm glad I didn't - there was more than enough! I used a bone cutter, a small heart cutter and a cat-shaped (lol) cutter. I added 1/3 peanut butter as per another review. I think that if I do this again, I will up the peanut butter to 2/3 cup and reduce the oil by half. The dough was pretty greasy but when baked and cool, it crisped up nicely. I really grossed out hubby when I sampled one. But they smelled so good while baking that I wanted to see what they tasted like (a non-salty wheat cracker). I'm sure they will be gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Carsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I have made this recipe two years in a row. Sometimes i will add a cup of peanut butter for extra flavor. I always use sodium free boullion. I have a dog bone cookie cutter. Then I freeze them in those disposable ziplock rectangle food storage plastic thingos which fit the cookies just perfectly. Then when it's time I take out a frozen cookie for my pooches OR I wrap a ribbon around a box to give as a gift to a neighbor for Christmas!! They're a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My dog absolutely loved this cookies. I didn't have whole wheat flour so I used all purpose flour. They turned out perfect. I used small round cookie cutters and they were also beatuful. When my mother saw the cookies (she didn't know they were for my dog), she asked me if she could eat one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Malcolm loved these, but if left too long, mold will start growing on them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Please omit the sugar; your dog does not need it. It's bad for their teeth and waist-lines :) They won't miss it -- honest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Very easy to make and my picky dog liked them. I didn't have powdered milk so I substituted oatmeal in the same amount. Everything else as written except I also added 2 tsp of baking powder and they puffed up nicely into perfect little bones! I'll alternate this with our favorite "Birthday Bones" from this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Every dog owner swear that their dogs go crazy over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
These were good, I made them for a holiday present for my sister's dog- who by all accounts, scarfed them up! I tried them too- a little bland for my taste, and I didn't get a "meaty" flavor or smell from them, like you would think would appeal to a dog, but she liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Our dogs love this recipe. Really good for training. They really pay attention for these yummy treats. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ultraviolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States