Good Dog Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
My sister's dog, Mac, greeted us at our car when we visited them recently. He KNEW there was something in the bag just for him because his nose didn't leave the box we carried in. He LOVED these. I felt almost guilty about using the bouillon cubes because I know they are health conscious in that household, and cubes are salty. I followed the recipe exactly, though, and it came together so easily. I don't know why people would bother to buy treats when these are so easy to make. Mac thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
My dogs love these cookies. The changes I made were Chicken Bouillon instead of beef (didn't have any beef). 4 Baby carotts chopped finely (for veggies). 1/4 cup bacon drippings and 1/4 cup canola oil for the vegetable oil (for flavor). A dash of garlic (helps with mosquitos). The always want at least 2 each time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I live next to a park where people walk their dogs and I have a dog as well. I took these to the park and gave them to several of the dogs (with owners permission) and they all loved them. My dog was so excited to get these treats. I will make often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These are the bomb! I love how easily this dough comes together and how well it rolls out. It was great to work with. The dogs gave these high fives and were making 'excuses' to go outside just so that they could score a treat. I think I counted over 50 treats so this makes a nice amount to have on hand. At the rate they're being devoured, I'll have to make another batch! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Put them in food saver sealing bags! no mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kawika Hanaike

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wonderful! My eight year old son did just about everything himself and enjoyed every minute of it. Of course we had to sample them and they were quite tasty! Our 14 year old Golden Retrieiver loved them, especially since they were soft cookies. I used chicken bouillon cubes instead of beef. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Golfmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Polson, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Our dog does not eat ANY store bought treats, NONE. Our vet says she is very healthy because of this, but she LOVES these!!! We gave them as gifts this Christmas, and everyones dog loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjmedellin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made these as a Christmas treat for the wonderful puppies in my life. 4 dogs tested, and all approved. While 2 will eat anything you put in front of them, obviously they gobbled theirs up right away, the other two are very picky. My picky eaters, we're very hesitant at first, but once they tried them, they couldn't get enough! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrab
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I decided to make these treats for all the family dogs for Christmas. I was going to double the recipe since I had 8 tins to fill, but I'm glad I didn't - there was more than enough! I used a bone cutter, a small heart cutter and a cat-shaped (lol) cutter. I added 1/3 peanut butter as per another review. I think that if I do this again, I will up the peanut butter to 2/3 cup and reduce the oil by half. The dough was pretty greasy but when baked and cool, it crisped up nicely. I really grossed out hubby when I sampled one. But they smelled so good while baking that I wanted to see what they tasted like (a non-salty wheat cracker). I'm sure they will be gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I have made this recipe two years in a row. Sometimes i will add a cup of peanut butter for extra flavor. I always use sodium free boullion. I have a dog bone cookie cutter. Then I freeze them in those disposable ziplock rectangle food storage plastic thingos which fit the cookies just perfectly. Then when it's time I take out a frozen cookie for my pooches OR I wrap a ribbon around a box to give as a gift to a neighbor for Christmas!! They're a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States