Good Dog Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My Golden Doodle gives these two paws up. They were quick and easy to make, much easier than many recipes I looked at. I rolled and cut them out with dog bone cookie cutters and plan to make more to give as gifts to all my dog loving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLabul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made these for my grand-dogs for Christmas. They loved them! They were easy to make, and turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieka

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very easy to make, but I think the amount of oil used may be too much - it was awfully "oily" or "greasy" feeling. Also, the beef bouillon cubes adds an awful lot of salt to them. I also think they should have baked longer as they really aren't very crispy like a dog treat usually is. They did smell great while baking,though, and my dogs love them. I just think I'll probably stick with the pumpkin & peanut butter treats I normally make for them as they seem healthier to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Easy to work with the dough. The cookies turned out looking soft and the doggies ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm not sure what I did wrong. The only substitute I made was using canola oil instead of vegetable oil, only because I didn't have veg oil & did have canola oil. I'm sure the recipients of these treats will still love them, but boy where they a pain to roll out! They were so dry & crumbly that I had to add water to them, and even that didn't help all that much. Will possibly try again, but this time around my kids are disappointed because they couldn't really help much. They were going to make them & take them to the Animal Rescue League. They were so excited to be able to help, but couldn't because it was so crumbly. Maybe next time! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imatami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Hobbes is a picky eater but he sure loves these. I used low sodium broth and added a jar of baby food for some balance. The next batch I made I added 1/2 cup of peanut butter. Easy recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
We have a dog grooming salon and often dogs turn up their noses at treats we purchase. They LOVE these. I am spending all of today making them to put in goodie bags for the clients at Christmas. Only changes I made was to add 1 tablespoon each of garlic powder and flax seed. I am doing all different shapes, bones, trees etc., but the easiest and a nice size for treats are cutting small squares, and do it on the cookie sheet. One batch gave me 36- 2 1/2 inch bones plus 10- 4 1/2 inch bones. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My dogs love this recipe. It is really easy and I usually double it and make them for friends at Christmas and Halloween. Always a thoughtful gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
My sister's dog, Mac, greeted us at our car when we visited them recently. He KNEW there was something in the bag just for him because his nose didn't leave the box we carried in. He LOVED these. I felt almost guilty about using the bouillon cubes because I know they are health conscious in that household, and cubes are salty. I followed the recipe exactly, though, and it came together so easily. I don't know why people would bother to buy treats when these are so easy to make. Mac thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
My dogs love these cookies. The changes I made were Chicken Bouillon instead of beef (didn't have any beef). 4 Baby carotts chopped finely (for veggies). 1/4 cup bacon drippings and 1/4 cup canola oil for the vegetable oil (for flavor). A dash of garlic (helps with mosquitos). The always want at least 2 each time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States