Good Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by momof4inwv
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was hands-down the best pie I've ever made. I had a very large (probably 10 in) glass pie pan and I used the No roll pie crust II recipe for the crust. I baked the No roll crust for 10 minutes prior to filling. I used the whole filling recipe in this one (large) crust. The crust was wonderful and the filling for the pie was incredible! I didn't have walnuts in the cupboard, so I substituted chopped roasted pecans for the topping. I baked it about 5 minutes longer than it called for and added about 1 tsp of additional corn starch, as I was concerned about a runny filling with such a deep pie. The texture and consistency turned out perfectly, but did require refrigeration for the full 4 hours to "set" in the middle. I couldn't be happier to have this "go to" recipe in my kitchen. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Great pie!! It reminded me a lot of the other recipe I have that uses sweetened condensed milk and unsweetened chocolate. But THIS pie is way cheaper and it's so easy to make! A great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is so yummy! It gets a little crispy on top and creamy and moist in the middle. All you chocolate lovers should give this a try! It's a keeper for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This was a very delicious pie. The top bakes up crunchy and the middle is like pudding. The only bad thing about this pie: waiting for it to cool. But once it sets up it is perfect. This is going in my permanent recipe file. I didn't want to share. If you are a chocolate lover, you will love this wonderfully rich pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is a keeper! I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Good thing the recipe is for two pies! I baked one with and one without the nuts. They were both excellent! This will be a new holiday regular for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marrero, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Perfect chocolate pie every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I have tried so many chocolate pie recipes and I was never quite satisfied with the results until I tried Good Chocolate Pie. What an understatement the name is. This is the best chocolate pie ever! I've served it several times now and everyone loves it. It cooks perfectly every time and is wonderful with or without the walnuts. Definitely a 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I thought this recipe was Easy, and Fast! And Delicious!!!!!! I had many people ask me for the Recipe......It's very tasty. But make sure to put tin foil loosely over the top so the crust doesn't burn. Splendid!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! My boss loves chocolate pies, so I made him one for Boss's day and one for his birthday and he loved it! The walnuts made a wonderful addition to the pie as well.Several people have asked for the recipe. I would not change a thing! This is a great recipe that I plan to use again and again. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
ok the first time we made this it turned out like fudge. We made it again and realized we messed a ingredient up. It turned out perfect! I gave this recipe a bad review at first. I am now recanting that review and giving it 5 stars. yes!! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEYLOVE28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States