Good Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Really good chocolatey pie! Quick and easy to make. Consistency is similar to a flour-less chocolate cake. Next time I'll use a chocolate wafer crust to make it even more chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these pies as a nod to my mother who was famous for her pies. I wanted to find a pie very close to hers to make it feel the holidays. My siblings and the kids are in love. I've made them twice now and making them tonight to celebrate NYD. Thanks for this recipe- ig1010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this pie tonight......and my 3 guys that were here to eat it, had nothing but rave reviews on it! I was looking for a "different" chocolate pie recipe - this was it! It's a KEEPER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howe, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Hello delicious. It wasn't really what I was expecting, much better. It was NOT chocolate pudding in a crust. It tasted like an old fashioned chocolate pie. I didn't realize it was for 2 pies though. I filled it to the brim and it spilled over. Probably would have been better if I had used 2 deep dish pie crusts. I also forgot to buy nuts. It was a really good pie without the nuts, but if you like nuts (I do) it would have made it even better. I don't believe in using margarine so I used salted butter (I don't believe in using unsalted butter either). I also couldn't imagine not adding salt to a recipe that had so much sugar in it. I think it did worked out fine. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
It was delicious!!! I didn't have any pie crusts on hand so I made a graham cracker crust, and it worked out fine. The filling was super creamy, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I was out of walnuts too, and i also use a few handfuls of prepackaged pecans. I did have my doubts but this pie is amazing!!! I am going to get more walnuts and make this again, it can only get better. I love the crunchy topping and rich fuge like center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof4inwv
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was hands-down the best pie I've ever made. I had a very large (probably 10 in) glass pie pan and I used the No roll pie crust II recipe for the crust. I baked the No roll crust for 10 minutes prior to filling. I used the whole filling recipe in this one (large) crust. The crust was wonderful and the filling for the pie was incredible! I didn't have walnuts in the cupboard, so I substituted chopped roasted pecans for the topping. I baked it about 5 minutes longer than it called for and added about 1 tsp of additional corn starch, as I was concerned about a runny filling with such a deep pie. The texture and consistency turned out perfectly, but did require refrigeration for the full 4 hours to "set" in the middle. I couldn't be happier to have this "go to" recipe in my kitchen. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is so yummy! It gets a little crispy on top and creamy and moist in the middle. All you chocolate lovers should give this a try! It's a keeper for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
this was ok. a little too sweet. and i don't know what i did wrong but it formed a sugary crust on top when i baked it. it was worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very good chocolate pie! Next time, although, I am going to double the recipe so it fills the pan completely. Very dark, dense, rich chocolate pie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States