Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is a really good whole wheat recipe. I have made some changes to it, but the basic recipe is still good. I lightly spoon the flour into a measuring cup and scrape across the top with a knife so that there is not too much flour in the dough. I add two tablespoons of gluten to the flour to help it rise. I also use honey instead of sugar, and oil instead of margarine. I have made this using molasses too. I have also added raisins and cinnamon for a whole wheat raisin loaf. This recipe has turned me off white flour entirely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
The first time I tried this recipe, the flavor was great! However, the texture didn't quite come out as I had hoped it would. With some changes, I think my second batch will turn out better: 3 tbsp of oil instead of margarine 3 tbsp of sugar 3 tsp of yeast 1/4 of gluten No milk, and more water - about 1 1/2 c of water or so total. This gave the bread dough the texture I was expecting. I'll know soon how it baked. Kudos to the original poster for getting a great flavor! I had to veganize it; hence the no-milk, but with some tweaking I think this recipe will work out great in my particular bread machine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Mixed the ingredients in a ninja dough mixer until it was all pulled together, about 3 minutes. Substituted 1/2 cup soymilk for the dry milk and reduced water to 3/4 cup. Raised for 1 hr then punched down and formed in bread pan. Raised 1 hour then baked at 350 degrees f for 30 minutes. It was delicious and perfect carb balance for two type 2 diabetics and 1 type one with a milk allergy. Great recipe with no white flour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made This today And It Turned Out Great. Used The Whole Grain Setting On My Bread Maker. Will Be Making This Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Really good recipe--I followed the recipe exactly but I had to add another 1/4 cup water after the first rise--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
CAme out good! The top did sink about an inch....not sure why.... but other than that, its just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
One of the best bread machine recipes out there! Turned out great! I cooked it in the oven. 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VLMartinez
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this without a bread maker, instead used my kitchen aid. I added 1 1/2 Tbsp wheat gluten. I first heated the milk, butter and sugar to 110 degrees. Put the milk mixture in mixer with 1 cup w.w. flour, and the yeast, mix with a whisk until incorporated. Add the salt and mix a bit more. Than add the last 2 cups w.w. wheat flour, and the 1 1/2 Tbsp gluten, and the dry milk. Put on the mixer, run to incorporate, and then to kneed, approx 6 min. Take out, spray bowl with Pam, put dough back in bowl, spray dough with Pam, cover with kitchen towel. Let sit approx an hour. Punch down. Kneed by hand, just a bit, shape into loaf shape. Spray loaf pan with Pam, add dough, spray dough with Pam again, cover with towel again. Let rise another hour, put into a 350* oven for 25-30 min. Take out of bread pan right away and let cool on a rack. Very good. Wanna make with honey next time. This is a very light and delicious w.w. bread. Hope these directions help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was excellent once I made a few modifications. I replaced 1/4 cup flour with vital wheat gluten, as others suggested. I also used organic butter instead of margarine. I will definitely make this again with the changes I made. I also want to try to substitute the dry milk power for whole milk and honey instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This bread was the most dense I've ever made, and I use my bread maker regularly. Disappointed! Guess I'll stick with the "whole wheat honey" bread recipe on this site. The loaf come out twice as big as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States