Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Really good recipe--I followed the recipe exactly but I had to add another 1/4 cup water after the first rise--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
CAme out good! The top did sink about an inch....not sure why.... but other than that, its just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
One of the best bread machine recipes out there! Turned out great! I cooked it in the oven. 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VLMartinez
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this without a bread maker, instead used my kitchen aid. I added 1 1/2 Tbsp wheat gluten. I first heated the milk, butter and sugar to 110 degrees. Put the milk mixture in mixer with 1 cup w.w. flour, and the yeast, mix with a whisk until incorporated. Add the salt and mix a bit more. Than add the last 2 cups w.w. wheat flour, and the 1 1/2 Tbsp gluten, and the dry milk. Put on the mixer, run to incorporate, and then to kneed, approx 6 min. Take out, spray bowl with Pam, put dough back in bowl, spray dough with Pam, cover with kitchen towel. Let sit approx an hour. Punch down. Kneed by hand, just a bit, shape into loaf shape. Spray loaf pan with Pam, add dough, spray dough with Pam again, cover with towel again. Let rise another hour, put into a 350* oven for 25-30 min. Take out of bread pan right away and let cool on a rack. Very good. Wanna make with honey next time. This is a very light and delicious w.w. bread. Hope these directions help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was excellent once I made a few modifications. I replaced 1/4 cup flour with vital wheat gluten, as others suggested. I also used organic butter instead of margarine. I will definitely make this again with the changes I made. I also want to try to substitute the dry milk power for whole milk and honey instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This bread was the most dense I've ever made, and I use my bread maker regularly. Disappointed! Guess I'll stick with the "whole wheat honey" bread recipe on this site. The loaf come out twice as big as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Perfect whole wheat bread! I just substituted the milk with vital gluten and let it rise twice, then baked in the oven at 350 for 30 min. I make it twice a week and it never fails. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I really like this bread, it has a great flavor. I used 1 C. water, 1/4 C. milk, and 2TB butter. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe! Makes a small & yummy loaf. I did not add the powdered milk & used butter instead of margarine & added some flax seeds. Set my bread machine for a light crust & used the 1.5 lb express bake setting. Fresh bread in an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by Megz
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I make this recipe all the time now and add a tsp of flax seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seads and poppy seads and my husband and I just love it. I use the mixer to mix and bake it in the oven at 350 for 30 min. That way you don't end up with holes in the bottom of your bread from the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States