Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Mixed the ingredients in a ninja dough mixer until it was all pulled together, about 3 minutes. Substituted 1/2 cup soymilk for the dry milk and reduced water to 3/4 cup. Raised for 1 hr then punched down and formed in bread pan. Raised 1 hour then baked at 350 degrees f for 30 minutes. It was delicious and perfect carb balance for two type 2 diabetics and 1 type one with a milk allergy. Great recipe with no white flour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made This today And It Turned Out Great. Used The Whole Grain Setting On My Bread Maker. Will Be Making This Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Really good recipe--I followed the recipe exactly but I had to add another 1/4 cup water after the first rise--turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
CAme out good! The top did sink about an inch....not sure why.... but other than that, its just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
One of the best bread machine recipes out there! Turned out great! I cooked it in the oven. 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VLMartinez
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this without a bread maker, instead used my kitchen aid. I added 1 1/2 Tbsp wheat gluten. I first heated the milk, butter and sugar to 110 degrees. Put the milk mixture in mixer with 1 cup w.w. flour, and the yeast, mix with a whisk until incorporated. Add the salt and mix a bit more. Than add the last 2 cups w.w. wheat flour, and the 1 1/2 Tbsp gluten, and the dry milk. Put on the mixer, run to incorporate, and then to kneed, approx 6 min. Take out, spray bowl with Pam, put dough back in bowl, spray dough with Pam, cover with kitchen towel. Let sit approx an hour. Punch down. Kneed by hand, just a bit, shape into loaf shape. Spray loaf pan with Pam, add dough, spray dough with Pam again, cover with towel again. Let rise another hour, put into a 350* oven for 25-30 min. Take out of bread pan right away and let cool on a rack. Very good. Wanna make with honey next time. This is a very light and delicious w.w. bread. Hope these directions help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was excellent once I made a few modifications. I replaced 1/4 cup flour with vital wheat gluten, as others suggested. I also used organic butter instead of margarine. I will definitely make this again with the changes I made. I also want to try to substitute the dry milk power for whole milk and honey instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This bread was the most dense I've ever made, and I use my bread maker regularly. Disappointed! Guess I'll stick with the "whole wheat honey" bread recipe on this site. The loaf come out twice as big as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Perfect whole wheat bread! I just substituted the milk with vital gluten and let it rise twice, then baked in the oven at 350 for 30 min. I make it twice a week and it never fails. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I really like this bread, it has a great flavor. I used 1 C. water, 1/4 C. milk, and 2TB butter. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States