Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I made this recipe without the use of a bread machine. Leaving it rise 1 hour for the first rising, and after shaping, another hour, baking it for 33 minutes at 350 degrees and it was really good. This was made in a Kitcheaid mixer with all the dry goods in first then the margerine, and the water last. I left the machine run until it was entirely pulled together, about 6 minutes. This was a real easy recipe taking no time at all, and oh so worth the time. Yum. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This recipe looks fantastic.....I'm making it right now - but I'm going to also add 1/4 C GLUTEN for a better rise and fluffier bread. You can find gluten at any health store and some grocery stores in the baking isle where flour is. When you bake bread w/ 100% WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, you're missing out on the gluten which is found in white flour....so it's best to add it for a nice fluffy high risen bread! Thanks for the recipe....also....*if I had honey* (which I'm out of!) I would omit sugar and replace w/ honey instead (same amts). -Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
The first time I made this in my bread machine, it came out small and very dense. I tried it again using the whole wheat dough cycle. I kneeded it some when it came out and put it in a bread pan, let it rise till double in size. Forgot about it and it rose a LOT above the pan. Still came out very good, but way too tall to fit in the toaster!!! All my family loved it. I did add the 1/4 cup gluten flour also. I am going to try to make hamburger buns next. If you are going to eat bread, it must be 100% whole wheat or from what the nutritionists say, you are eating a slice of sugar. Thanks for the recipe. 6/11/07 I have been making this bread almost every day now. When I have all the ingred. out, I make bread baggies with all the dry ingredients in each baggies except for the flour. Now I only have to put the water in the bread machine, add the 3 cups flour, pour in my baggie of dry ingred., add butter, pop in the bread machine, set for ww dough and in two hours I can plop it in a bread pan, let it rise for about 45 min and bake at 350 for about 25--30 minutes. This is the only bread my 1-1/2 year old grandaughter wants to eat :) Gotta go make bread, thanks... p.s. If you want to use honey, just don't add the sugar to the bread baggies and add it when you add butter:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I tried this recipe (my first yeast bread - I used instant dry yeast) and it came out perfect and I didn't even use a bread machine. Just put all the ingredients in a bowl and kneaded. Allowed it to rise an hour, kneaded again, let it rise in a greased pan another hour, baked for 50 minutes and had the most glorious bread ever. It was soft and heavenly. Slicing it was a "moment". I don't know what took me so long to bake bread. The recipe was perfect, especially for a beginner like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Holy cow! This is everything that whole wheat bread should be! My only change was to use butter instead of margarine, and I added 1/4 C vital wheat gluten, per other reviewers. It is SO light and fluffy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
I cheated the first time I made this, and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of unbleached white. It was so delicious, I have not tried it any other way, nor have I made any other kind of bread in my machine. It's moist, light, and slices great for toast and sandwiches. My 3 year old loves it. You have to try this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I usually do wheat bread with only 1/3 whole wheat flour, because I don't like whole wheat bread that much, but this bread was excellent. It isn't too dense, and it is quite moist. I make bread a few times a week, and my husband said this is the best I have ever made. I made it by hand: proofed the yeast, let rise 1 1/4 hours, then formed into loaves and let rise about 45 minutes. Baked on 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
This is by far the best whole wheat bread. My family loves it, down to my 2-year-old grandson. I do add one TB of wheat gluten; have tried it without the gluten, so I know it turns out better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPA_G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
It may be the baker here :), but this turned out really dense. I was going to use it for sandwiches, but it was not the right texture. May try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
After so many problems with Whole Wheat Bread a big THANK YOU "Flute" for this recipe! A delicious, moist loaf, I will be using this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States