Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a tasty loaf, although mine fell a bit just as it was about to start the baking cycle. Just to mention that Whole Wheat Honey Bread on this site is also a pure w/wheat recipe and works incredibly well in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Awesome. Perfect. Great smell to wake up to in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This bread was not like any wheat bread I've made before!!Everyone loved it. I did use a few modifications:1. I used 1 1/4 C of warm 1% milk 2.Used 2 1/4 c whole wheat flour(all I had) and 1 C bread flour 3. replaced white sugar with brown sugar 4. used dough cycle, let rise 1 hr, then baked about 37 mins @ 350. Thanks will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
It came out wonderful, light, fluffy. I added ground golden flax and sunflower seeds for nutrition, substituted soy milk for powdered milk, soy margarine and added some honey. It was so good we ate it plain or with a little soy butter. I've tried other whole grain and multi grain recipes which ended up hard or heavy. This one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Is it just me? I cannot figure out how to make this bread rise. It's just awful. It doesn't even fill the bread pan of the bread machine after hours of rising. I'm disappointed. I want this to work. I tried gluten like other reviews said, I've tried it all. It's just a small hard loaf. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Consistency of the bread is solid. While in the abm, the top of loaf fell, but otherwise perfect all around. Excited this is a simple straightforward recipe that does not ask for all purpose flour. Way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
It really is good! As recommended, I added a 1/4 cup of wheat gluten. I also don't have powdered milk, so I just substituted 1/4 cup of 1% milk with 1 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crunchy Carrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This bread was excellent. I used canola oil instead of margarine, honey instead of white sugar and added 1/4 flaxseeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This fabulous! Easy to double and it freezes really well! If you don't have a bread machine make sure you knead it really, really well. Also, make sure you let it rise long enough (45 minutes - 1 hour). I was in a hurry once and put it in too soon and it split a little on the side. Still was yummy, just not as pretty! I also add Gluten and I also add ground up flax seeds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe except didn't have milk powder. It rose well, baked up nice but has a nasty bitter after taste...any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States