Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I grind my own whole wheat flour and I could not make a really good whole wheat bread untill I found this recipe. Excelant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Forgot to mention that I used the bread machine dough setting not the complete cycle since I have very poor luck with that. Just took it out,kneaded about 1 minute with oiled hands (so as not to put more flour in), put in greased pans and let rise till about 1 to 2 inches above pan (rose higher in the oven) and baked at 375 in glass pans for about 35 minutes (till bread sounds hollow when tapped lightly. Removed immediately from pan and covered with cloth for 15 minutes or so and then spread small amount of butter on top. Couldn't wait to try it and sliced it warm....yummy! Makes good sandwich bread. DH had peanut butter and jam sandwich while still warm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Not impressed with this bread at all. I followed the instructions but it just did not seem to rise well at all. (even with allowing extra time) May be its something I did wrong, not sure. Will not be baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this bread with the instructions from the gal who used her Kitchen Aid mixer and couldnt believe that it used half the usual yeast and still was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I don't own or use a bread machine. Made this whole wheat bread with a stand mixer and oven. I proof the yeast first, then combine all the ingredients and let stand for 20 minutes. I then do a quick mixer knead, oil the top and cover, and let it rise for four hours. Baked at 450 until golden brown. Flavor improves to store-bought with addition of 1-4tb of vital wheat gluten. No problems making it without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very nice, mine fell a little, but maybe because I peeked! Very nice flavor and texture. It disapeared in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a tasty loaf, although mine fell a bit just as it was about to start the baking cycle. Just to mention that Whole Wheat Honey Bread on this site is also a pure w/wheat recipe and works incredibly well in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Awesome. Perfect. Great smell to wake up to in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This bread was not like any wheat bread I've made before!!Everyone loved it. I did use a few modifications:1. I used 1 1/4 C of warm 1% milk 2.Used 2 1/4 c whole wheat flour(all I had) and 1 C bread flour 3. replaced white sugar with brown sugar 4. used dough cycle, let rise 1 hr, then baked about 37 mins @ 350. Thanks will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
It came out wonderful, light, fluffy. I added ground golden flax and sunflower seeds for nutrition, substituted soy milk for powdered milk, soy margarine and added some honey. It was so good we ate it plain or with a little soy butter. I've tried other whole grain and multi grain recipes which ended up hard or heavy. This one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States