Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I used the oven because I don't have a bread machine. I took the advice of another reviewer. Let it rise for 1 hour and then kneaded it placed it in the loaf pan and shaped it to fit and let rise for about 45 min and then baked. Very happy with it. Simple recipe. It might have to grow on you if you are not used to eating whole wheat but that is what we always eat so we enjoyed it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This has become my everyday bread; by far the best recipe I tried, though I also add the 1/4 cup of wheat gluten as recommended by one of the reviewers. It turns out soft and delicious every time. I also substitute canola oil for the butter (same measurement), and occasionally add sunflower or pumpkin seeds (pepitas). Wonderful for sandwiches, toasted, or just sliced thick to go with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I grind my own red wheat for breads and such. It is well to note that freshly ground wheat flour doesn't have any of the preservatives that flours bought in the grocery usually do. Even with the preservatives, flour can go rancid, so it's best kept in the refrigerator or freezer. Make sure to let any flour come to room temperature before using in recipes. Also make sure you take the temperature of the water or liquid you use with any recipe that calls for yeast - to hot or too cold and you won't get optimum results. And note the expiration date on yeast! This is a great recipe that, if the above precautions are taken, turns out good every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Awesome bread! I mixed the dough in the bread maker and baked it in the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I grind my own whole wheat flour and I could not make a really good whole wheat bread untill I found this recipe. Excelant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Forgot to mention that I used the bread machine dough setting not the complete cycle since I have very poor luck with that. Just took it out,kneaded about 1 minute with oiled hands (so as not to put more flour in), put in greased pans and let rise till about 1 to 2 inches above pan (rose higher in the oven) and baked at 375 in glass pans for about 35 minutes (till bread sounds hollow when tapped lightly. Removed immediately from pan and covered with cloth for 15 minutes or so and then spread small amount of butter on top. Couldn't wait to try it and sliced it warm....yummy! Makes good sandwich bread. DH had peanut butter and jam sandwich while still warm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Not impressed with this bread at all. I followed the instructions but it just did not seem to rise well at all. (even with allowing extra time) May be its something I did wrong, not sure. Will not be baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this bread with the instructions from the gal who used her Kitchen Aid mixer and couldnt believe that it used half the usual yeast and still was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I don't own or use a bread machine. Made this whole wheat bread with a stand mixer and oven. I proof the yeast first, then combine all the ingredients and let stand for 20 minutes. I then do a quick mixer knead, oil the top and cover, and let it rise for four hours. Baked at 450 until golden brown. Flavor improves to store-bought with addition of 1-4tb of vital wheat gluten. No problems making it without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very nice, mine fell a little, but maybe because I peeked! Very nice flavor and texture. It disapeared in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States