Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I'm making this right now! I didn't have milk powder, so I put 6 tbsp milk in a liquid measuring cup, then added water up to 1 1/4 cup. It's currently rising in the oven and looking GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This bread came out amazing! I have never had such success with 100% whole wheat. I subbed molasses for the sugar and coconut cream powder for the nonfat dry milk powder (I just didn't have any powdered milk) and it came out BEAUTIFULLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe was PHENOMENAL! I have to admit that I was a little hestitant in using all 3 cups of whole wheat flour as I was concerned about the density of the bread. Nonetheless, it turned out great and my family has really enjoyed this bread recipe. It's much better than any store-bought wheat bread I've ever had! I made this using our bread machine on the dough setting. Once that was complete, I shaped the dough and placed it in a bread pan, allowing it to rise for 45 minutes. I then baked it in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. Is there a better smell in the house than fresh baked bread?!?!?! :) Side Note: I followed the suggestion of adding 1/4 cup of vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaaadow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
The concept was good. But, I kept asking myself how is this going to rise without any white flour? Wheat bread recipes always use a mix of both. I have heard on here that something called "vital wheat gluten" could be used in place of the gluten in white flour, although I have not tried that method. I tried though despite my thoughts. I had some excellent yeast, that I used the day before, so that was not the problem. But, as I expected it didn't rise an inch! And, it broke a part on my bread machine because it was so tough, because it wouldn't rise. Most of the reviewers who had success did what I thought and added the white flour and reduced the wheat flour, to make the 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is my favorite wheat bread I've made from this site so far. I didn't make any changes to it and it turned out great. This will be my go to bread for sandwiches from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
BEST BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE! I will be making this a staple. It was very light and stayed fresh for several days (big surprise). I did sub one cup of white flour (per other reviews) and will not change a thing nxt time. AWESOME BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This bread is great. I have made 4 loaves in the last month and it comes out perfect every time. I did substitute butter for margarine and just let it melt in the warm water before adding to the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a good basic bread recipe. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I added th 1/4 cup of wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Added 1/4 cup gluten as suggested by other reviewers. Great bread, makes great toast. It rose about 3/4 the size of a regular loaf, but wasn't too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a fantastically, easy, and delicious whole wheat bread recipe. I gauge the 100% part by the grams of fiber. I like to have 4g. or more, and this comes pretty darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States