Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
The concept was good. But, I kept asking myself how is this going to rise without any white flour? Wheat bread recipes always use a mix of both. I have heard on here that something called "vital wheat gluten" could be used in place of the gluten in white flour, although I have not tried that method. I tried though despite my thoughts. I had some excellent yeast, that I used the day before, so that was not the problem. But, as I expected it didn't rise an inch! And, it broke a part on my bread machine because it was so tough, because it wouldn't rise. Most of the reviewers who had success did what I thought and added the white flour and reduced the wheat flour, to make the 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is my favorite wheat bread I've made from this site so far. I didn't make any changes to it and it turned out great. This will be my go to bread for sandwiches from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
BEST BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE! I will be making this a staple. It was very light and stayed fresh for several days (big surprise). I did sub one cup of white flour (per other reviews) and will not change a thing nxt time. AWESOME BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This bread is great. I have made 4 loaves in the last month and it comes out perfect every time. I did substitute butter for margarine and just let it melt in the warm water before adding to the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a good basic bread recipe. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I added th 1/4 cup of wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Added 1/4 cup gluten as suggested by other reviewers. Great bread, makes great toast. It rose about 3/4 the size of a regular loaf, but wasn't too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a fantastically, easy, and delicious whole wheat bread recipe. I gauge the 100% part by the grams of fiber. I like to have 4g. or more, and this comes pretty darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I wanted to make this South Beach appropriate. SMade by hand. I wanted to use one kilo of flour, so calculated to 33 servings. Used canola oil in place of margarine, one cup of soy milk in place of the powdered milk and one of the cups of water, and used liquid sucralose in place of the sugar. Proofed the yeast with the remaining warm water and a tiny bit of brown sugar (so the yeast could grow), then added to the other ingredients. I needed to add extra flour, the dough was so sticky. Let dough rise twice, then shaped. Incredible texture - the lightest 100% WW I ever made. I like a sweeter flavor - honey would have been excellent - but it was really, really great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Love this recipe! Great for when you DON'T have honey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
this is very good ww bread others stated...nice and soft and not dense...i just made it this morning and used it for toasted blt's for lunch and it came thru brilliantly...the dh luved it...it didn't disappoint and i will forsure make it again (i didn't use the egg stuff tho')...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States