Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
BEST BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE! I will be making this a staple. It was very light and stayed fresh for several days (big surprise). I did sub one cup of white flour (per other reviews) and will not change a thing nxt time. AWESOME BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This bread is great. I have made 4 loaves in the last month and it comes out perfect every time. I did substitute butter for margarine and just let it melt in the warm water before adding to the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a good basic bread recipe. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I added th 1/4 cup of wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Added 1/4 cup gluten as suggested by other reviewers. Great bread, makes great toast. It rose about 3/4 the size of a regular loaf, but wasn't too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a fantastically, easy, and delicious whole wheat bread recipe. I gauge the 100% part by the grams of fiber. I like to have 4g. or more, and this comes pretty darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I wanted to make this South Beach appropriate. SMade by hand. I wanted to use one kilo of flour, so calculated to 33 servings. Used canola oil in place of margarine, one cup of soy milk in place of the powdered milk and one of the cups of water, and used liquid sucralose in place of the sugar. Proofed the yeast with the remaining warm water and a tiny bit of brown sugar (so the yeast could grow), then added to the other ingredients. I needed to add extra flour, the dough was so sticky. Let dough rise twice, then shaped. Incredible texture - the lightest 100% WW I ever made. I like a sweeter flavor - honey would have been excellent - but it was really, really great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Love this recipe! Great for when you DON'T have honey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
this is very good ww bread others stated...nice and soft and not dense...i just made it this morning and used it for toasted blt's for lunch and it came thru brilliantly...the dh luved it...it didn't disappoint and i will forsure make it again (i didn't use the egg stuff tho')...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I didn't have dry powdered milk, so I did 1/4 cup milk with 1 cup water. I melted the butter in the water and milk, then whisked it all into the mixed dry ingredients by hand. Without a bread machine, I found 35 minutes at 350 to be just right. Also remember to grease and dust your bread pan with flour so it comes out of the pan perfectly! I agree with one hour to rise, then knead and one more hour to rise in the bread pan. Mmm! This bread is light and delicious, and perfect for sandwiches since it isn't too sweet (no honey). I loved it hot out of the oven, drizzled with olive oil. :) The best wheat bread I've made! P.S. After having made this bread several times now, I have two last comments: if you're baking with a regular bread pan, I would up the "servings" to 16 to get sandwich-sized slices. I've also tried 100% whole wheat as compared to half-and-half, and I prefer using some white flour. It comes out so much fluffier! It's still our favorite weekly bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I don't have a bread maker but found this bread recipe to be one of the simplest I've ever followed and the first whole wheat recipe to work perfectly. I doubled the recipe for two bread pans, but only used 5 cups of flour instead of 6. It seemed that less flour kept the dough light and elastic so that I didn't have to add gluten. I also used butter and grated it cold. I let the dough rise two hours until it filled a large bowl, then let it rise about 1/2 hour again in the pans, then put it in a cold oven and baked it at 350 for about 20 minutes. It's so good!!! Thank you, Flute, for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States