Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Finally a 100% Whole Wheat Bread that isn't heavy like a brick. Read the reviews for tips and used the 1/4 cup of 2% milk and only 1 cup of water as I don't use the milk powder. Also used honey to replace the sugar. Used my KitchenAid. Put in flour, then salt in one area and yeast in the other then honey. Poured water on top. Used mixer paddle until dough came together. Switched to kneading hook and kneaded for 2 minutes. Let rest for 5 minutes then needed again for 3 minutes. Shaped into a ball on counter, placed in slightly oiled bowl with cover and let rise in oven with light on for 1 hour. Rolled out to 9x15" and rolled from short end up. Pinched seams and ends. Put in 9X5 non stick loaf pan and let rise lightly covered for 1 hour. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Absolutely perfect. High, light, not too "wheaty" tasting. Brushed the top with a little olive oil for looks. Never cared for Whole Wheat Bread but this recipe is dynamite. I use regular Robin Hood Whole Wheat Flour. No need for special bread flour for this recipe. AMAZING!!! Thanks so much to poster and to those who offer helpful reviews/tips/alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a fool-proof awesome recipe for wheat bread. It's light and very tasty. In a pinch, I've used 2 cups of whole wheat flour plus 1 cup of bread flour and it's also turned out well. Forgiving and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Really good and not dense at all for being 100% whole wheat! I made this the traditional way and added 1 1/2 Tbsp. vital wheat gluten to aid in the rising process. I dissolved the yeast in the water for 10 min. (until yeast bubbles to the surface), then added the sugar, salt (only 1 tsp. to cut the sodium), butter, wheat gluten, dry milk powder, and 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour. I then added the flour 1/2 c. at a time, then turned dough out onto my floured counter-top and kneaded for about 10 min. (dough was stiff to work with). I let it rise for 1 hr., punched it down, rolled it out and rolled up jelly roll style, put it in a prepped pan, and let it rise for another hour. Baked in a pre-heated 350 F. degree oven for 35 min., and rubbed the top with a tad bit of butter right after pulling it from the oven to keep the crust soft. EXCELLENT is all I can say. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastry_Perfection

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I just received my very first bread machine, a sunbeam. I'm waiting for my cookbook to come with it so I searched for a simple whole wheat recipe. This receipe fit the bill and is absolutely delicious. The only difference was I substitued 1/4 cup of milk for the powdered milk and only put in 1 cup of water. (I had no powdered milk). For anyone looking for whole wheat, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent, but I substituted honey for the sugar and olive oil for the margarine. I also added some Italian herbs and gave it a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I'm making this right now! I didn't have milk powder, so I put 6 tbsp milk in a liquid measuring cup, then added water up to 1 1/4 cup. It's currently rising in the oven and looking GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This bread came out amazing! I have never had such success with 100% whole wheat. I subbed molasses for the sugar and coconut cream powder for the nonfat dry milk powder (I just didn't have any powdered milk) and it came out BEAUTIFULLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe was PHENOMENAL! I have to admit that I was a little hestitant in using all 3 cups of whole wheat flour as I was concerned about the density of the bread. Nonetheless, it turned out great and my family has really enjoyed this bread recipe. It's much better than any store-bought wheat bread I've ever had! I made this using our bread machine on the dough setting. Once that was complete, I shaped the dough and placed it in a bread pan, allowing it to rise for 45 minutes. I then baked it in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. Is there a better smell in the house than fresh baked bread?!?!?! :) Side Note: I followed the suggestion of adding 1/4 cup of vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaaadow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
The concept was good. But, I kept asking myself how is this going to rise without any white flour? Wheat bread recipes always use a mix of both. I have heard on here that something called "vital wheat gluten" could be used in place of the gluten in white flour, although I have not tried that method. I tried though despite my thoughts. I had some excellent yeast, that I used the day before, so that was not the problem. But, as I expected it didn't rise an inch! And, it broke a part on my bread machine because it was so tough, because it wouldn't rise. Most of the reviewers who had success did what I thought and added the white flour and reduced the wheat flour, to make the 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is my favorite wheat bread I've made from this site so far. I didn't make any changes to it and it turned out great. This will be my go to bread for sandwiches from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States