Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this bread 3 times using a bread machine. The first one was fine and the second two times the bread didn't rise. Not sure what went wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is great whole wheat bread. I was skeptical, since it's so hard to make whole wheat bread that's not rock hard and there are few ingredients in this bread. However, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I had to adjust the yeast down to 1/4 teaspoon, to keep it from falling in the middle of the loaf, since I use bread machine yeast. It makes a dense loaf of 100% whole wheat bread, so yes, this recipe does work, but I do believe that truly whole wheat bread is an acquired taste. I can see now why most people usually only use 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of regular flour when they make "whole wheat" bread. This 100% whole wheat bread does not taste very good at all. In fact, after I use up my one sack of whole wheat flour I plan on going back to using nothing but regular flour for my bread machine bread from now on. If I'm going to go to all the trouble to make my own bread, I want it to taste yummy. I gave the recipe 3 stars because once you adjust the yeast to suit your needs, it actually does work. You will get a loaf of 100% whole wheat bread. It's just a shame that it doesn't taste very good. At least not to me. Everyone has different tastes, and some people may love this bread. I had my brother try some and he didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Makeda
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I don't have a bread maker, so I made this recipe the traditional way. My bread came out soft and airy. I used 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup all purpose flour. Very good whole wheat bread recipe. Definitely will be making again. However, I personally like my bread a little sweeter, so next time I make this I'll substitute 2tbsp brown sugar for the 1 1/2 tsp white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have used this recipe many times and it turned out perfect, but yesterday and today I used the No Name Whole wheat flour and it didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This does not rise at all...do not know whether I had bad yeast...but was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made this with the exact ingredients listed and threw them into my bread machine, set it to the whole wheat setting, and it came out great. First time making any bread in the bread machine that didn't turn into a rock. I didn't add gluten (although I might at some point). Great texture and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
The heading for this recipe says this bread isn't hard. Not sure whether that refers to the difficulty level of the recipe, or the texture of the final product, but it's true either way. I am a complete bread novice, and I don't have a bread machine, so I followed the steps outlined in the "Baking Yeast Breads" article on this site. It was very simple to do, although the hand-kneading process required adding a lot of additional flour, which may have made the bread denser than it would have been otherwise. Still, my first-ever loaf of bread came out soft, chewy, and delicious. I'm delighted1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I always use the dough cycle because I don't like the way my bread machine bakes. Just as well with this recipe, when the cycle was finished I had a dough which had harder clumps stuck to it. I put it in a bowl and added a little more water to make a cohesive dough and then shaped, proved and baked as normal. It has just occurred to me that this could be due to the difference in UK flour although it's never happened to me before. So I'm rating this a 4 instead of a 3 as I first intended. I did end up with an excellent loaf of bread which also makes great toast. I've also learnt a valuable lesson, to check on the dough when it's in the breadmaker instead of just letting it run. Thankyou Flute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent taste and texture, very easy recipe. Was so easy to make in bread machine. I love 100% whole wheat bread and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States