Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have used this recipe many times and it turned out perfect, but yesterday and today I used the No Name Whole wheat flour and it didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This does not rise at all...do not know whether I had bad yeast...but was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made this with the exact ingredients listed and threw them into my bread machine, set it to the whole wheat setting, and it came out great. First time making any bread in the bread machine that didn't turn into a rock. I didn't add gluten (although I might at some point). Great texture and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
The heading for this recipe says this bread isn't hard. Not sure whether that refers to the difficulty level of the recipe, or the texture of the final product, but it's true either way. I am a complete bread novice, and I don't have a bread machine, so I followed the steps outlined in the "Baking Yeast Breads" article on this site. It was very simple to do, although the hand-kneading process required adding a lot of additional flour, which may have made the bread denser than it would have been otherwise. Still, my first-ever loaf of bread came out soft, chewy, and delicious. I'm delighted1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I always use the dough cycle because I don't like the way my bread machine bakes. Just as well with this recipe, when the cycle was finished I had a dough which had harder clumps stuck to it. I put it in a bowl and added a little more water to make a cohesive dough and then shaped, proved and baked as normal. It has just occurred to me that this could be due to the difference in UK flour although it's never happened to me before. So I'm rating this a 4 instead of a 3 as I first intended. I did end up with an excellent loaf of bread which also makes great toast. I've also learnt a valuable lesson, to check on the dough when it's in the breadmaker instead of just letting it run. Thankyou Flute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent taste and texture, very easy recipe. Was so easy to make in bread machine. I love 100% whole wheat bread and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was decent enough, but it didn't rise very much for me. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, then put it in a bread pan and let it rise for about 45 minutes, then baked at 350 for about 35 minutes. It could be that not making it fully in the bread machine is the reason it didn't turn out as well for me. I would like to try using vital wheat gluten with this recipe, so I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My husband and family loved this bread. It is easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is a very good bread machine recipe. It really is whole wheat bread that isn't too dense. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great bread, I'll definitely make it again. I'm glad somebody posted how to make it in an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States