Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love the texture and moistness of the bread, but I could taste the salt. Maybe I mis-measured, but will make with less next run. I am enjoying a chicken sandwich on it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker_37
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Light and fluffy? More like a 5# brick! I've been baking bread since the early 90's so this is not my first loaf. I've gone on the South Beach diet recently and wanted to make a 100% whole grain bread. This recipe sounded good. Well it's not which was apparent the moment the kneading got under way. It was just a big clump. I nearly doubled the amount of water to the mix and that turned out to still be insufficient. I've put a picture of what this looked like coming from the bread machine also. It was horrifically dense (despite using the vital wheat gluten as others suggested) and it didn't even taste good. Simply not enough liquid in it. I would make with caution especially if using a bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
the only change I made was 1 cup white bread flour and 2 cups whole wheat instead of the 3 whole wheat. I also used butter instead of margarine. Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good place to start. I made a few modifications to suit our tastes. Thanks for a god solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! I made my own tweaks like everyone does, but it's a great recipe. Easy to change up and mix around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I'd give this a 3 1/2 stars, it is easy to prepare but DRY. Not a lot of flavor unless warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseytheriveter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this bread 3 times using a bread machine. The first one was fine and the second two times the bread didn't rise. Not sure what went wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is great whole wheat bread. I was skeptical, since it's so hard to make whole wheat bread that's not rock hard and there are few ingredients in this bread. However, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I had to adjust the yeast down to 1/4 teaspoon, to keep it from falling in the middle of the loaf, since I use bread machine yeast. It makes a dense loaf of 100% whole wheat bread, so yes, this recipe does work, but I do believe that truly whole wheat bread is an acquired taste. I can see now why most people usually only use 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of regular flour when they make "whole wheat" bread. This 100% whole wheat bread does not taste very good at all. In fact, after I use up my one sack of whole wheat flour I plan on going back to using nothing but regular flour for my bread machine bread from now on. If I'm going to go to all the trouble to make my own bread, I want it to taste yummy. I gave the recipe 3 stars because once you adjust the yeast to suit your needs, it actually does work. You will get a loaf of 100% whole wheat bread. It's just a shame that it doesn't taste very good. At least not to me. Everyone has different tastes, and some people may love this bread. I had my brother try some and he didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Makeda
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I don't have a bread maker, so I made this recipe the traditional way. My bread came out soft and airy. I used 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup all purpose flour. Very good whole wheat bread recipe. Definitely will be making again. However, I personally like my bread a little sweeter, so next time I make this I'll substitute 2tbsp brown sugar for the 1 1/2 tsp white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeda

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States