Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
FIRST TIME I TRIED IT, I MADE BUNS - I ADDED 1/4 CUP GLUTEN AND FOUND THEM DRY. RE-TRIED TODAY MAKING BREAD AND SUBBING OLIVE OIL FOR MARG, HONEY FOR SUGAR AND REPLACING 1/4 CUP FLOUR WITH GLUTEN - TURNED OUT EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I love this bread!! I do use 1/2 regular whole wheat flour and 1/2 white whole wheat flour, but that is just my preference. I like to use my bead maker for dough, but prefer to bake in the oven. Thanks to the other reviewer who mentioned to let it rise for 45 minutes, then bake for 25-30 mins at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Doubled and made in the kitchen aid. Let knead for 7 minutes on medium. Did need all the flour. Next time I'll do this at 1.5 the size since it really warmed up the kitchen aid with the big dough and I'll make it in an 8x4 and a 9x5 instead of two 9x5's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I have tried MANY whole wheat recipes and this is, by far, the very best. Nice and moist with a great taste and better yet I can make it in my bread machine. Thank you so much !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DORIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love the texture and moistness of the bread, but I could taste the salt. Maybe I mis-measured, but will make with less next run. I am enjoying a chicken sandwich on it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker_37
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Light and fluffy? More like a 5# brick! I've been baking bread since the early 90's so this is not my first loaf. I've gone on the South Beach diet recently and wanted to make a 100% whole grain bread. This recipe sounded good. Well it's not which was apparent the moment the kneading got under way. It was just a big clump. I nearly doubled the amount of water to the mix and that turned out to still be insufficient. I've put a picture of what this looked like coming from the bread machine also. It was horrifically dense (despite using the vital wheat gluten as others suggested) and it didn't even taste good. Simply not enough liquid in it. I would make with caution especially if using a bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
the only change I made was 1 cup white bread flour and 2 cups whole wheat instead of the 3 whole wheat. I also used butter instead of margarine. Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good place to start. I made a few modifications to suit our tastes. Thanks for a god solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! I made my own tweaks like everyone does, but it's a great recipe. Easy to change up and mix around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I'd give this a 3 1/2 stars, it is easy to prepare but DRY. Not a lot of flavor unless warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Shoafstall Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States