Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Was good w/ a few changes, did not use dried milk because I never have it, substituted water with milk. First loaf was WAY too salty, cut back to 3/4 tsp. Now its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made the original recipe and although it is good, I made a few changes. I use 1/4 cup of honey to replace the sugar. I use 1 1/2 TBS canola oil to replace the margarine and I add 1/4 cup of vital wheat gluten. I use the dough cycle and shape and let rise in a 9x5 loaf pan and bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great recipe! I've tried other 100% whole wheat bread recipes without much success. These loaves were light and delicious! I read other reviews and since I didn't have gluten I also mixed some bread flour in with the whole wheat flour (1/3 bread flour and 2/3 whole wheat). Also, I don't have a bread machine so I mixed everything in my stand mixer with dough hooks and then finished kneading by hand. Sprinkled tops of loaves with wheat bran and toasted wheat germ, which added a nice touch. Bread raised well and made beautiful loaves. Doubled the recipe and gave one loaf to a friend. Got a text from her saying she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This bread is amazing in my book. I did NOT alter the recipe at all... except for the fact that I used the dough setting on my bread machine and then baked it in my own pan in the oven! It is the softest 100% whole wheat bread I've ever made, without adding white flour or extra gluten! I'm super impressed. I've made it twice now. Once as hoagie rolls and just now as a loaf. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Overall, this was very good. I doubled the recipe and made in my Bosch Universal mixer. I used WW Bread flour and found that I achieved better results with that than just straight WW flour. I used honey instead of the sugar and butter instead of margarine. Oil could probably be added instead with satisfactory results. I made part rolls and part loaves and they were all great. It was moist and a little dense, but not dry or gluey. My husband is not a fan of WW bread and he ate this without complaining too much. Brush the tops of bread or rolls with melted butter as soon as they come out of the oven to make them even more soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very good. The crust was a little too salty for my wife's liking, but I like saltier food anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
FIRST TIME I TRIED IT, I MADE BUNS - I ADDED 1/4 CUP GLUTEN AND FOUND THEM DRY. RE-TRIED TODAY MAKING BREAD AND SUBBING OLIVE OIL FOR MARG, HONEY FOR SUGAR AND REPLACING 1/4 CUP FLOUR WITH GLUTEN - TURNED OUT EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I love this bread!! I do use 1/2 regular whole wheat flour and 1/2 white whole wheat flour, but that is just my preference. I like to use my bead maker for dough, but prefer to bake in the oven. Thanks to the other reviewer who mentioned to let it rise for 45 minutes, then bake for 25-30 mins at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Doubled and made in the kitchen aid. Let knead for 7 minutes on medium. Did need all the flour. Next time I'll do this at 1.5 the size since it really warmed up the kitchen aid with the big dough and I'll make it in an 8x4 and a 9x5 instead of two 9x5's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I have tried MANY whole wheat recipes and this is, by far, the very best. Nice and moist with a great taste and better yet I can make it in my bread machine. Thank you so much !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DORIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States