Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
whole wheat bread inside perfect delicious... but why hard on the bottom? is cause of bread machine? or too long cook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Seriously good bread. I've made this twice so far. Both times I added gluten so it wouldn't be dense as whole wheat bread can come out. And the second time I replaced the sugar with honey. That second time was beyond awesome. I almost ate the whole loaf myself. I spread peanut butter on top a slice and fell in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I bake artisan breads for a living in a wood fired brick oven. But sometimes I like to use my inside oven. I ground the wheat I used in this recipe, and did also add 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten per others suggestions. Other than that this is a very good recipe and turned out great. Five Stars all the way--very easy recipe if one follows the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan The Bread Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Muenster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I kind of used this recipe as a starting point and then went on to create a masterpiece! I also used the link anonymous cooker shared for making the bread by hand to give me additional guidance. Also I made 2 loaves. Here's what I did. I heated 2 1/2 cups milk in the microwave for 3 minutes to 115 degrees Fahrenheit. While that was warming, I whisked 6 cups of sifted whole white wheat (sometimes called pastry flour) flour with 1 tablespoon salt and 6 tablespoons vital wheat gluten. Then to the milk I added 1/4 cup grapeseed oil, 1/4 cup molasses and 2 packages Hodgson Mills yeast (especially for whole grains). I mixed it up with a spoon and watched it until I saw bubbles then I poured it into the dry ingredients. After I mixed it thoroughly, I dumped it onto the counter and kneaded it for 10 minutes. I placed it in a lightly oiled bowl and put a damp paper towel on top. I put the bowl in the oven which was somewhere around 150 degrees Fahrenheit. I let it rise until it was double (about an hour). I punched it down and kneaded it 35 times and divided it between my 2 loaf pans and returned it to the oven for about an hour (until the dough was doubled and about 2 inches above the top of the pan). Then I removed the damp paper towel, turned on the oven to 350 and let the loaves bake until dark brown, about 1/2 hour. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
We have no breadmaker! Also, we have no powdered milk! We had to make some minor modifications! So with a splash of milk instead of the powdered variety, melted butter, and two hour-long rising sessions followed by 25 minutes at 350 degrees, this turned out perfectly. Very very simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! Have been making it almost every day for a couple of months now and never get tired of it. It's got a light texture and is everything I've been looking for in a whole wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipe, however I do not have a bread maker - I gave it away because it never worked at high altitude - 8,300 ft. I also substituted 1/3 cup flour with glutton, the sugar with sucanat and the oil with coconut oil. It turned out wonderful, and actually has been the BEST bread recipe I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Great moist bread. To the reviewer who complained about needing more instruction, and the recipe being badly written - it's for a Bread Machine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I didn't have any dried milk powder, so I used 1/2 cup soymilk and proofed my yeast with 3/4 cup of warm water. I made this by hand and it turned out great. It was a really quick bread recipe- a little heavy, but better than the too-squishy store bought bread. I'll be making this at least weekly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
very good, soft crust, I moved mine after it raised to much so it fell, but it still tasted awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States