Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Always turns out great. I use honey instead of sugar. It is now a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morenci, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richards Bay, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Good, dense bread. Smells and looks great! (I substituted a TBsp of cream for the powdered milk, but otherwise just the same)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very nice ww bread. I added 3 tbs of vital wheat gluten to help it rise. I used the dough only feature of my bread machine then placed in a loaf pan to rise and bake. I didn't let it rise too much; I have a tendency to forget and let my loaves over rise a bit, so I kept an eye on it. I baked it when it had risen out to the sides of the pan and a bit over the pan. I baked at 375 for about 45-50 minutes; this time and temp seems to work best with my oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is the best whole wheat bread recipe I've tried. I prefer a loaf shape for easier sandwiches and French toast, so I used my bread machine's dough cycle, then turned the dough into a loaf pan. I let it rise for an hour in a warm oven, then baked it at 350° for 45 minutes. It rose and baked perfectly, wasn't flat or heavy at all - thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
whole wheat bread inside perfect delicious... but why hard on the bottom? is cause of bread machine? or too long cook?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Seriously good bread. I've made this twice so far. Both times I added gluten so it wouldn't be dense as whole wheat bread can come out. And the second time I replaced the sugar with honey. That second time was beyond awesome. I almost ate the whole loaf myself. I spread peanut butter on top a slice and fell in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I bake artisan breads for a living in a wood fired brick oven. But sometimes I like to use my inside oven. I ground the wheat I used in this recipe, and did also add 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten per others suggestions. Other than that this is a very good recipe and turned out great. Five Stars all the way--very easy recipe if one follows the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan The Bread Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Muenster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I kind of used this recipe as a starting point and then went on to create a masterpiece! I also used the link anonymous cooker shared for making the bread by hand to give me additional guidance. Also I made 2 loaves. Here's what I did. I heated 2 1/2 cups milk in the microwave for 3 minutes to 115 degrees Fahrenheit. While that was warming, I whisked 6 cups of sifted whole white wheat (sometimes called pastry flour) flour with 1 tablespoon salt and 6 tablespoons vital wheat gluten. Then to the milk I added 1/4 cup grapeseed oil, 1/4 cup molasses and 2 packages Hodgson Mills yeast (especially for whole grains). I mixed it up with a spoon and watched it until I saw bubbles then I poured it into the dry ingredients. After I mixed it thoroughly, I dumped it onto the counter and kneaded it for 10 minutes. I placed it in a lightly oiled bowl and put a damp paper towel on top. I put the bowl in the oven which was somewhere around 150 degrees Fahrenheit. I let it rise until it was double (about an hour). I punched it down and kneaded it 35 times and divided it between my 2 loaf pans and returned it to the oven for about an hour (until the dough was doubled and about 2 inches above the top of the pan). Then I removed the damp paper towel, turned on the oven to 350 and let the loaves bake until dark brown, about 1/2 hour. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
We have no breadmaker! Also, we have no powdered milk! We had to make some minor modifications! So with a splash of milk instead of the powdered variety, melted butter, and two hour-long rising sessions followed by 25 minutes at 350 degrees, this turned out perfectly. Very very simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! Have been making it almost every day for a couple of months now and never get tired of it. It's got a light texture and is everything I've been looking for in a whole wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States