Gone with the Wind Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
I made this cake for my sister's wedding last year. I used the Lemon Filling suggested, frosted with whipped cream, and decorated with yellow pansies. It was light, delicious, and perfect for a beautiful spring day! Unfortunately, I didn't save the recipe at the time, thinking I'd find it again easily. I've hunted for months! So glad I found it again!!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I had a lot of fun making this cake, and the whole family enjoyed it. It was delicious all by itself, but when topped with fresh strawberries, it was out of this world! The best strawberry shortcake I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHK22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This was a yummy yummy cake. But I sure was surprised at how hard it was to make an angel food cake, especially because I don't have an electric mixer. Worth it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
too eggy.. didn't quite like it... n too sweet too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Made this recipe years ago and loved it. So glad I found it again. Light and fluffy and very enjoyable. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
this is a great recipe for angel food cake. I was mostly attracted to it, because it doesn't use as many eggs as all the other angel cakes. I iced it with whipped cream on top and in the center. My mother could not stop eating it! It is a fluffy delicious cake. I used all purpose flour, turned out a bit chewy on the outside, but non the less really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
great cake! i leearned after baking a few times that in the first 20 minutes of cooking, cake should be cooked at 325 degrees. then the next 30 minutes cook it on 350 degrees. when done, if not cooked all the way through, cook it for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. turns out moist, soft, and yummy. this is a great cake for eating and is WAY easier than most, especially if you have an electric mixer. the mixer cut the prep time down to 30 minutes! (versus 1 hour without mixer) i am so glad to finally find a recipe that doesn't include "angel food cake mix" i mean, come on! if you want to make a cake, you want to MAKE A CAKE! i never have any cream of tartar in the house so it was a relief that this recipe doesn't require it. since i don't have any cake flour (and can never find any in stores) i substituted it with 7/8 cup all-purpose flour and 2 tablespoons corn starch and it worked great! wonderful recipe, i will make this many times over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This cake is definitely easy to make as long as you have a kitchen aid mixer. It was quick and easy, and delicious! I made a blueberry sauce and served it with whipped cream!! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Another lost recipe found! No need to change anything, this cake is perfect as is! My family is so happy I found this. We always top it with fresh strawberry sauce and strawberry slices. The perfect summer comfort dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States