Gone with the Wind Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jollyjulie
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I am from Ukraine. I am in love with this cake. Made it with lemon filling.The taste of this cake is rather unusual for us but it's really very delicious. I covered it with ganache and fondant. The cake with Scarlett and a book is mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
the best angel food cake ! :) ever !! thanks for sharing this great recipe ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A cake that has really good flavor! In fact, the flavor and color reminds me of the Singapore's delicious Pandan Cake :P Anyways, instead of cake flour, since I don't have any in my house, I substituted it with all-purpose flour. Surprisingly, it came out flat and unfluffed, unlike the normal cakes that fluff up... I guess it was because I changed the flour kind. Hence, next time if I add more baking soda, it would be fine. All in all, a great and easy recipe, and I would definitely come back and use this one more often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My cake keeps falling! I have made it twice and both times it rises up but then it falls. what am I doing wrong?! it's still pretty tasty, but I'd really like to know what I'm doing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monjfr
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this recipe is cheaper and better than angel food cake recipe, I like that the cake is moist without being rubbery. I used AP flour, but I think I'm going to use less sugar the next time (about 1/4 cup less). I added an orange peel for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I made this cake for my best friend's birthday and everyone LOVED it! My husband who isn't real fond of sweets ate TWO pieces. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Mine didn't turn out as high as an angel food cake, but it got rave reviews as I served it for bingo night. I was glad I had one piece left over, so I could taste it. I frosted the cake and added sprinkles. My friends ask me for the recipe so I will be sharing this recipe with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
i made this for a family gathering and everyone loved it!!! even my picky grandmother said that it was the best angel cake she'd ever had. I was really glad to find a recipe that didn't have 12 eggs and the cake had a great texture, tho it was kinda dry the next day. I served it with the Supreme Strawberry Topping from this sight and homemade whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great cake, light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
my first time making an angel food cake and a cousin who's in the baking industry pronounced it better than any she could whip up herself!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States