Gone with the Wind Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jollyjulie
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I am from Ukraine. I am in love with this cake. Made it with lemon filling.The taste of this cake is rather unusual for us but it's really very delicious. I covered it with ganache and fondant. The cake with Scarlett and a book is mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
the best angel food cake ! :) ever !! thanks for sharing this great recipe ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A cake that has really good flavor! In fact, the flavor and color reminds me of the Singapore's delicious Pandan Cake :P Anyways, instead of cake flour, since I don't have any in my house, I substituted it with all-purpose flour. Surprisingly, it came out flat and unfluffed, unlike the normal cakes that fluff up... I guess it was because I changed the flour kind. Hence, next time if I add more baking soda, it would be fine. All in all, a great and easy recipe, and I would definitely come back and use this one more often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My cake keeps falling! I have made it twice and both times it rises up but then it falls. what am I doing wrong?! it's still pretty tasty, but I'd really like to know what I'm doing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monjfr
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this recipe is cheaper and better than angel food cake recipe, I like that the cake is moist without being rubbery. I used AP flour, but I think I'm going to use less sugar the next time (about 1/4 cup less). I added an orange peel for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I made this cake for my best friend's birthday and everyone LOVED it! My husband who isn't real fond of sweets ate TWO pieces. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Mine didn't turn out as high as an angel food cake, but it got rave reviews as I served it for bingo night. I was glad I had one piece left over, so I could taste it. I frosted the cake and added sprinkles. My friends ask me for the recipe so I will be sharing this recipe with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
i made this for a family gathering and everyone loved it!!! even my picky grandmother said that it was the best angel cake she'd ever had. I was really glad to find a recipe that didn't have 12 eggs and the cake had a great texture, tho it was kinda dry the next day. I served it with the Supreme Strawberry Topping from this sight and homemade whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great cake, light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
my first time making an angel food cake and a cousin who's in the baking industry pronounced it better than any she could whip up herself!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States