Gomen Wat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Easy to make, really good. A good way to make collard greens healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Trying to learn to eat the South Beach way, I thought I'd try this healthy version of collards. AWESOME! I wasn't sure about this combo of seasonings, so I started with a little less than what was called for on the allspice, ginger and tumeric and then seasoned to my taste. A little cayenne pepper finished it off. Don't forget the lemon juice--it's essential. The dish is very pleasing to the eye as well. I can't wait to make it again and show it off to my friends. I'm eating this whole skillet myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
After boiling the greens and draining them (saving the liquid for sure!), I used a cast iron skillet for the final steps. Green pepper needs to be sliced fairly thin. This was aromatic, just spicy enough, colorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My ethipian born children thank you for this wonderful and closely authentic recipe! I use chicken broth for the liquid and found frozen chopped collards in my local grocery to cut the time down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
For my very first encounter with collard greens, I will say it was delicious! I used ground ginger, because I did not have any fresh ginger handy. I didn't understand why the greens needed to be drained and liquid reserved if it all goes back into the pot, so while the collards were simmering, i cooked the onions in a separate pan and when it was time i just added the onions+garlic to the pot with the greens and continued on from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was delicious and healthy, though it didn't quite have the flavor that I expected. I added more ginger root and some hot sauce, and omitted the salt, and it was perfect. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Wonderful recipe, thank you! I love collards and this was a wonderful new flavor for them! Ok, the dreaded changes and substitutions…I used more liquid, water and a heafty addition of what I call “refrigerator stock.” I take whatever leftover juices (within reason for a Cajun) and keep up my supply in the fridge. Some of the extra liquid from the greens actually went back into the jar. I added onions and garlic to the greens as it cooked. I then added much more garlic and onions and omitted the bell pepper ( none on hand). I added a lot more of the spices as others recommended and added a large dollop of cayenne pepper. So good, but the next day it even better so make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and it was surprisingly delicious and to my utter astonishment, my very picky nine year old gobbled it down and asked for seconds. My whole family loves this recipe and now I have a recipe for all those collard greens I planted this year. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe was amazing, way better than I imagined it would be, but there are some minor alterations I would like to add. First off, when chopping the collards, remove the hard stem. What I did was sort of cut an elongated V shape up the center of the leaf to remove the most of the hard stem and rib together. Also, I dumped all of the collards and the water into a large bowl, and used the same vessel the collards had been in to cook the onion. When ready I poured the collards, water and all, back into the onion mixture. This saved some time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States