Gomen Wat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe - I used red peppers instead of green and skipped the onions (didn't have any on hand) and it still came out very good. For those watching salt intake, you can decrease the amount of salt and it will still be good. thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee, but did NOT care for the end result at all. It was way too gingery and the spice combination tasted a little off. It's too bad; I really enjoy the gomen wat at my favourite local Ethiopian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
For my very first encounter with collard greens, I will say it was delicious! I used ground ginger, because I did not have any fresh ginger handy. I didn't understand why the greens needed to be drained and liquid reserved if it all goes back into the pot, so while the collards were simmering, i cooked the onions in a separate pan and when it was time i just added the onions+garlic to the pot with the greens and continued on from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and it was surprisingly delicious and to my utter astonishment, my very picky nine year old gobbled it down and asked for seconds. My whole family loves this recipe and now I have a recipe for all those collard greens I planted this year. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I should start by saying that I have never had/prepared collard greens, but I do like spinach, kale, etc. Also, I love Ethiopian food. Following the recipe I still didn't have really soft greens, I had to increase the cooking times throughout. I really like the flavor of the spices, but just not with the greens. I might actually try the spice combo on some chicken : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe was amazing, way better than I imagined it would be, but there are some minor alterations I would like to add. First off, when chopping the collards, remove the hard stem. What I did was sort of cut an elongated V shape up the center of the leaf to remove the most of the hard stem and rib together. Also, I dumped all of the collards and the water into a large bowl, and used the same vessel the collards had been in to cook the onion. When ready I poured the collards, water and all, back into the onion mixture. This saved some time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Wonderful recipe, thank you! I love collards and this was a wonderful new flavor for them! Ok, the dreaded changes and substitutions…I used more liquid, water and a heafty addition of what I call “refrigerator stock.” I take whatever leftover juices (within reason for a Cajun) and keep up my supply in the fridge. Some of the extra liquid from the greens actually went back into the jar. I added onions and garlic to the greens as it cooked. I then added much more garlic and onions and omitted the bell pepper ( none on hand). I added a lot more of the spices as others recommended and added a large dollop of cayenne pepper. So good, but the next day it even better so make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My ethipian born children thank you for this wonderful and closely authentic recipe! I use chicken broth for the liquid and found frozen chopped collards in my local grocery to cut the time down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The spices in this were a little funky. Maybe I made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States