Gomen Wat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Umm, yummy, I made this recipe., was my firth time to made it and try . I love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The peppers made this dish especially bitter and for all the ingredients to make it interesting, we didn't like it at all. We will continue to boil greens in salted water with a little olive oil. This brings out the hearty taste of the greens and makes it versatile to go with many foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I am a huge fan of etheopean food and have eaten this dish in restaurants. For me this recipe was just ok. It was a little blan and not quite on the mark. I even added some etheopean spiced butter to it to make it more rich and flavorful and a dash of berbere mix. I served it with injera home made kifto and we enjoyed the meal, largeley because kifto is usually so spicy it carries most of the flavor. I dont think that I would make this as a stand-alone side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Mmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Hoffmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Yum! I grew up in the Southern U.S. and really only knew one way to cook collards (with meat). This vegetarian dish is delicious! I weighed my collards and after cooking them down, it seemed like I could have used double the amount in this dish without sacrificing flavor. The flavor is the real bonus of this dish! I was looking for a vegetarian collard dish that would be flavorful and this is perfect! My only suggestion is to cut down on the reserved liquid you add. It took me about 20 minutes to cook down the water and I added about 2/3 of my liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Loved it! Tasted just like we get at our favorite Ethiopian restaurant. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious! I was skeptical this ws going to actually taste like Ethiopian dishes I get in the restaurant since it doesn't call for Berber seasonings, but it does! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Wow, really surprisingly good! I sort of reversed the steps. I sauted the onion, garlic and ginger first, added the spices and green pepper, then the collards, then just enough water to cook them and simmered for about 20 min. The result was great, much better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This dish was good but I wish I used a little less ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is fantastic. I am going to make more tomorrow! My gold standard (until now) for collards was southern style - cooked in pork back. Move over Paula Dean, Gomen Wat is my new favorite way to prepare collards! I did have to make a couple changes: I used ginger paste (shame, shame, I know), jar garlic (8 cloves is a lot to mince, sister), and store bought lemon juice. I did put a pinch of salt in the water to boil the collards and I doubled the tumeric and allspice. This dish is perfectly balanced. In my experience with Ethiopian cooking (limited), I have found the flavors are even better the next day. I've made this dish a few hours ahead of dinner time so it can develop a little .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States