Golompke (Beef and Cabbage Casserole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I was surprised at how tasty this was, especially after a day or two. I was looking for a way to use up a half a head of cabbage from St. Patty's day. I'm not that fond of cabbage, but this recipe caught my eye because of the tomato and meat. I made some changes because of what I had on hand. I used ground turkey, seasoned with salt, pepper and cumin, and added garlic along with the chopped cabbage. I only had one can of tomato soup so added some left-over tomato sauce. And the best thing was that it was so easy to make. I may actually buy cabbage in the future so I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This reminded me and hubs of that San Francisco treat, with the coleslaw replacing the vermicelli. It had a nice crunch and overall was a good dish with some modifications in the way it's put together. I browned the ground beef and onions in a chef's pan while the rice cooked in a separate saucepan according to package instructions for 4 servings. I added seasoning which was lacking based on other reviews. A small palm full of herbs de provence, some crushed garlic, and dashes of salt and pepper. I drained the fat from the cooked meat, then added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and a 15 oz can of organic tomato sauce. No need for the can of water. Just added the cooked rice to the mixture, then tossed in the coleslaw. For a nice presentation, I placed a cabbage leaf on each plate and filled with the Golomke. In hindsight, I wish I would have added some caraway seeds. Maybe next time if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this and took the advice of TARAWVU. Adding onion soup mix and cooking the rice before is helpful. I had 1/2 a cabbage laying around so I opted for that vs the slaw mix. I have also used this as a base after I had leftover boiled dinner and did not know what to do with it. Using the cabbage, carrots and a few potatoes fit nicely into this recipe. This is a 3x winner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Love this recipe! I usually cook the rice first, and I add garlic powder and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have made this twice. Easy-peasy and delish! I did add a dash of nutmeg to the soup mixture, it gave the cabbage/meat a good pop of flavor...Hubby had me add a breadcrumb & cheddar cheese topping, which was very good as well, gave the dish some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I used ground turkey and a can of v-8 juice instead of two cans of soup. I added garlic and other spices to spice it up a bit and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
this was ok. I loved that it was easy to make, but I think next time I'd use pork and maybe add some garlic... the original recipe is lacking flavor. I only gave this 1 star- Reason, taste was lacking and if my family doesn't eat the dish on the day I make it or finish leftovers in the fridge then it's not keeper in its' current form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldenCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
To spice this recipe up, I use 1 11 oz can tomatoes with jalepeno pepper and 1 15 oz can tomato sauce withsuggested water. Also added chopped green pepper. I pre-soaked the rice and micro-wave on high for 20 - 30 min. Save heating up the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
After reading reviews, I substituted Italian sausage for the beef, and a can of diced tomato and tomato sauce for the soup. I sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top. It was easy,delicious and no leftovers. My family loves stuffed cabbage rolls and this is a good alternative when I don't have the time to devote to that kind of project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We LOVE cabbage rolls but we didn't think this tasted at all like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Ann Moul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States