Golompke (Beef and Cabbage Casserole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have been making this recipe with a few changes for 30 odd years and my family loves it. I use about 1/2 head of cabbage instead of the slaw mix,cut into bite size pieces, salt, pepper and a little garlic powder to taste. I also sprinkle parmesan cheese on top before I bake it. I put it in a 2 1/2 Qt casserole dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I used ground turkey and a can of v-8 juice instead of two cans of soup. I added garlic and other spices to spice it up a bit and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have made this twice. Easy-peasy and delish! I did add a dash of nutmeg to the soup mixture, it gave the cabbage/meat a good pop of flavor...Hubby had me add a breadcrumb & cheddar cheese topping, which was very good as well, gave the dish some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I was surprised at how tasty this was, especially after a day or two. I was looking for a way to use up a half a head of cabbage from St. Patty's day. I'm not that fond of cabbage, but this recipe caught my eye because of the tomato and meat. I made some changes because of what I had on hand. I used ground turkey, seasoned with salt, pepper and cumin, and added garlic along with the chopped cabbage. I only had one can of tomato soup so added some left-over tomato sauce. And the best thing was that it was so easy to make. I may actually buy cabbage in the future so I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I loved it. Used some diced tomato and tomato sauce in place of the soup. Yummy! Like cabbage rolls without the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
After reading reviews, I substituted Italian sausage for the beef, and a can of diced tomato and tomato sauce for the soup. I sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top. It was easy,delicious and no leftovers. My family loves stuffed cabbage rolls and this is a good alternative when I don't have the time to devote to that kind of project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
To spice this recipe up, I use 1 11 oz can tomatoes with jalepeno pepper and 1 15 oz can tomato sauce withsuggested water. Also added chopped green pepper. I pre-soaked the rice and micro-wave on high for 20 - 30 min. Save heating up the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Love this recipe! I usually cook the rice first, and I add garlic powder and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this and took the advice of TARAWVU. Adding onion soup mix and cooking the rice before is helpful. I had 1/2 a cabbage laying around so I opted for that vs the slaw mix. I have also used this as a base after I had leftover boiled dinner and did not know what to do with it. Using the cabbage, carrots and a few potatoes fit nicely into this recipe. This is a 3x winner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This reminded me and hubs of that San Francisco treat, with the coleslaw replacing the vermicelli. It had a nice crunch and overall was a good dish with some modifications in the way it's put together. I browned the ground beef and onions in a chef's pan while the rice cooked in a separate saucepan according to package instructions for 4 servings. I added seasoning which was lacking based on other reviews. A small palm full of herbs de provence, some crushed garlic, and dashes of salt and pepper. I drained the fat from the cooked meat, then added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and a 15 oz can of organic tomato sauce. No need for the can of water. Just added the cooked rice to the mixture, then tossed in the coleslaw. For a nice presentation, I placed a cabbage leaf on each plate and filled with the Golomke. In hindsight, I wish I would have added some caraway seeds. Maybe next time if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States