Golompke (Beef and Cabbage Casserole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
To spice this recipe up, I use 1 11 oz can tomatoes with jalepeno pepper and 1 15 oz can tomato sauce withsuggested water. Also added chopped green pepper. I pre-soaked the rice and micro-wave on high for 20 - 30 min. Save heating up the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
After reading reviews, I substituted Italian sausage for the beef, and a can of diced tomato and tomato sauce for the soup. I sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top. It was easy,delicious and no leftovers. My family loves stuffed cabbage rolls and this is a good alternative when I don't have the time to devote to that kind of project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We LOVE cabbage rolls but we didn't think this tasted at all like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Ann Moul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is a good base recipe but, and I know how everyone hates this, I had to change a few things. First of all, I had a head of cabbage left over so I cut that up and sauteed it with olive oil, 1 chopped onion and 3 cloves of garlic, minced. I used 2 lbs. ground chuck which I browned and drained. Then I made 2 c. of white rice in a large stock pot. Added the cabbage mixture, ground beef, 2 cans of soup, 1 can water, and 1 can of tomato sauce with the herbs and such already in there. and 1 envelope of dried onion soup mix. I mixed it all together and let the cabbage soften a little more with the lid on. It DISAPPEARED! My husband and brother added a few dashes of hot sauce to theirs. Definitely a winner and much, much easier than traditional cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Awesome recipe, allows you to customize your own spices for the added kick. Used half a cabbage instead of coleslaw mix as another reviewer mentioned. Great for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have to say that my expectations were pretty low here...and I am not going to say that it is as good as my wife's Cabbage Rolls as they are killer. That said...while this needs some spice IMO, it is pretty dang good and it is hard to imagine anything being easier/faster to put together. A good one to keep in the back of your mind for those days when you want something a little different or don't have much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good when you don't want to do all the hard work that making cabbage rolls takes. 4 stars because I do like the taste of cabbage rolls better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A good casserole for my family that enjoys cabbage. I can add seasoning as my tastes desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe! I especially liked the use of the coleslaw mix, which I was kind of sceptical about.. It was a fantastic dish! Everyone wanted more - I will never make traditional cabbage rolls again. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because of the lack of seasoning, I added paprika, dill weed, salt & pepper and a can of whole plum tomatoes with juices. I plan to play with this one quite a bit, different meats, veggies etc. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I loved it. Used some diced tomato and tomato sauce in place of the soup. Yummy! Like cabbage rolls without the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States