Golompke (Beef and Cabbage Casserole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is a good base recipe but, and I know how everyone hates this, I had to change a few things. First of all, I had a head of cabbage left over so I cut that up and sauteed it with olive oil, 1 chopped onion and 3 cloves of garlic, minced. I used 2 lbs. ground chuck which I browned and drained. Then I made 2 c. of white rice in a large stock pot. Added the cabbage mixture, ground beef, 2 cans of soup, 1 can water, and 1 can of tomato sauce with the herbs and such already in there. and 1 envelope of dried onion soup mix. I mixed it all together and let the cabbage soften a little more with the lid on. It DISAPPEARED! My husband and brother added a few dashes of hot sauce to theirs. Definitely a winner and much, much easier than traditional cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Awesome recipe, allows you to customize your own spices for the added kick. Used half a cabbage instead of coleslaw mix as another reviewer mentioned. Great for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have to say that my expectations were pretty low here...and I am not going to say that it is as good as my wife's Cabbage Rolls as they are killer. That said...while this needs some spice IMO, it is pretty dang good and it is hard to imagine anything being easier/faster to put together. A good one to keep in the back of your mind for those days when you want something a little different or don't have much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good when you don't want to do all the hard work that making cabbage rolls takes. 4 stars because I do like the taste of cabbage rolls better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A good casserole for my family that enjoys cabbage. I can add seasoning as my tastes desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe! I especially liked the use of the coleslaw mix, which I was kind of sceptical about.. It was a fantastic dish! Everyone wanted more - I will never make traditional cabbage rolls again. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because of the lack of seasoning, I added paprika, dill weed, salt & pepper and a can of whole plum tomatoes with juices. I plan to play with this one quite a bit, different meats, veggies etc. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I loved it. Used some diced tomato and tomato sauce in place of the soup. Yummy! Like cabbage rolls without the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Okay but very very bland even though I had more to make it spicier. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have been making this recipe with a few changes for 30 odd years and my family loves it. I use about 1/2 head of cabbage instead of the slaw mix,cut into bite size pieces, salt, pepper and a little garlic powder to taste. I also sprinkle parmesan cheese on top before I bake it. I put it in a 2 1/2 Qt casserole dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firedancer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States