Golly Gee Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Much to the dismay of my long suffering family I've tried many gluten free pancake recipes and store bought mixes...all of which have been disappointing. This was the same. The pancakes were flat and flavorless. I do not reccomend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Another great alternative for those of us needing gluten free! I tripled the recipe as it only makes 3 small pancakes. Then, I put the others in ziplocks in the fridge for instant breakfast during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I lOVED YOUR RECIPE FOR PANCAKES. I HAVE TRIED OVER THE COUNTER WHEAT FREE TYPES AND FOUND THEM LACKING. THANK YOU FOR SUBMITTING THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE,BECAUSE I HAVE REALLLLLY MISSED HAVING PANCAKES, AND NOW I CAN ENJOY THEM ANY TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe and worth a try for those who are gluten intolerant. If you have problems with flatness i suggest beating 2 egg whites instead of using 1 egg white and yolk. This website has great info on how to beat egg white properly. Thank you for the recipe and please add more of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was perfect. We need to be wheat, dairy, egg, and soy free so I used one banana in place of the egg and used the sorghum flower like others suggested and added semi-sweet chocolate chips made by Enjoy Life which are allergen free. They were fluffy like regular pancakes so no one could tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
One of the better options. Based on my kitchen inventory, I used 1/4c+1t cornstarch in place of arrowroot and sorghum instead of amaranth. They are a little flat and best if eaten immediately. My 6 y.o. gave them two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
These GF pancakes were easy to make & turned out really well! I substituted corn starch for the arrowroot flour, and pineapple juice for the apple. I also like the fact that they don't have added sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Really, really tasty! We have been using another GF pancake recipe, but ran out of the potato starch it called for. So we tried this recipe and the family LOVED them! We had to make a few substitutions for things we were out of, but turned out YUMMY! We used Sorghum flour instead of amaranth, cornstarch instead of arrowroot, and white grape juice for apple juice. We had to add 1 1/2 cups rice milk and 1/2 cup water, because it was too dry with just the juice. This is a keeper. THANKS for the flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKERS68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I have been making these for many months and my 5 year old son loves them - with a few changes. I use the "sweet" white sorghum flour instead of the amaranth. I use any kind of juice, add a banana and sometimes add chocolate chips for variety. With just the sorghum flour change, these are very tasteful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I don’t normally care for amaranth flour, but I have some that needs used up. Thankfully, this recipe actually does an excellent job of blending flavors together to make a delicious amaranth pancake. I also replaced the egg with banana, and I added just a hint of ground cloves. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States