Goldy's Special Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I bought a bigger salad bowl so that I could make this salad again. I love the combination of mango and avocado - it tastes great and looks very colourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Salad mix is wonderful, the vinaigrette is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I like all the ingredients in the salad, but I kept the dressing in a separate container, and it had congealed by the 2nd day! There was no saving it. Not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very disappointed with this recipe. Nothing special. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I loved this salad! I took the previous reviewer suggestion and used white pepper. I loved the proportion of vinegar to oil. With this in mind I served this salad with Dorsey's Fried Oysters (on this site). It was absolutely perfect. Plan on making this salad tomorrow again. A great combination of flavors and beautiful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Fantastic! The dressing makes this salad zing, and it really improves if you can make it at least a few hours ahead of time. It's punch comes from the combination of pepper and mango-- I recommend using only white pepper, as it's intense bite is a nicer compliment to the mango. Yet, if you only have black pepper, you will still create a great tasting salad. We enjoy this with Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce (found on allrecipes.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Great salad. Would have never thought to mix all these ingredients together to create something this good. Don't like Spinach, and I'm not crazy about mango, but I gave it a chance and found it to be very interesting and delicious. I was afraid this would become a bland mess of stuff mixed together, but was amazed how you can taste each and every ingredient separately and yet each one goes so well together with the others... Will be making this again SOON! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
My husband first made this for me for Valentine's Day a few years ago. We love it! It's great to take to potlucks or to a friends house for dinner. Everyone's always excited by all the colorful ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This salad will definitely make you ooohh and ahhh. It makes your taste buds dance and wish you were on a tropical island enjoying the sun. My husband and I went to Cancun for our honeymoon. I wanted to bring back memories of that time for a Valentine dinner. It certainly did the job. Absolutely wonderful salad! The only thing I would change is to lower the amount of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a good salad on the day you make it, but the next day the flavors of the onion were too strong and I didn't like it quite as much. I think it's a great salad when you have company and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States