Goldy's Special Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Great salad. Would have never thought to mix all these ingredients together to create something this good. Don't like Spinach, and I'm not crazy about mango, but I gave it a chance and found it to be very interesting and delicious. I was afraid this would become a bland mess of stuff mixed together, but was amazed how you can taste each and every ingredient separately and yet each one goes so well together with the others... Will be making this again SOON! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Fantastic! The dressing makes this salad zing, and it really improves if you can make it at least a few hours ahead of time. It's punch comes from the combination of pepper and mango-- I recommend using only white pepper, as it's intense bite is a nicer compliment to the mango. Yet, if you only have black pepper, you will still create a great tasting salad. We enjoy this with Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce (found on allrecipes.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
While I liked everything together the dressing was very tart, not necessarily a bad thing. I used raspberry champagne vinegar as I didn't realize I was out of white wine vinegar. I will reduce vinegar by at least half and up the sugar a tad next time which will still make enough dressing for this amount of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I doubled the amount of everything except the spinach and fed 5 for lunch. We had plenty of leftovers. Mango was a delightful addition. The dressing was very tart and I added about 1/8 c of sugar. I would add more next time. Husband and company loved the salad. I will make it again. It was great with soup and sourdough rolls on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Really great presentation! Left out the avocado, and my wife vetoed the dressing after tasting it. We used a bottled light raspberry vinegarette instead. I was concerned it might be too sweet, but the salad got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I bought a bigger salad bowl so that I could make this salad again. I love the combination of mango and avocado - it tastes great and looks very colourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This salad was really good, although it definately had way too much vinegar in it! Next time I'll cut the vinegar in half and add pine nuts for crunch. Definately very good and I will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
A nice salad. I left out the tomatoes as I didn't like the idea of mangoes and tomatoes together. I found the dressing a little on the bland side, I would probably use a balsamic vinegar dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I just had to add some cheese. I thought it needed just a little bit more flavor contrast. Feta this time but I think blue Cheese would be better.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This is a wonderful salad! My husband and I loved it, and my two year old picks the fruit out, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States