Goldy's Special Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This is a wonderful salad! My husband and I loved it, and my two year old picks the fruit out, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
An amazing combination that was amazingly successful. I did use only half the spinach. And then had to cut way back on the vinegar for health reasons - I used 2T. of the oil with only 2T. vinegar plus 3T. water and it was just sharp enough for us. I'm sure it would have been just as good with all the spinach. - nanonline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is great-the mango and avocado together make a nice blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I doubled the amount of everything except the spinach and fed 5 for lunch. We had plenty of leftovers. Mango was a delightful addition. The dressing was very tart and I added about 1/8 c of sugar. I would add more next time. Husband and company loved the salad. I will make it again. It was great with soup and sourdough rolls on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a good salad on the day you make it, but the next day the flavors of the onion were too strong and I didn't like it quite as much. I think it's a great salad when you have company and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This salad will definitely make you ooohh and ahhh. It makes your taste buds dance and wish you were on a tropical island enjoying the sun. My husband and I went to Cancun for our honeymoon. I wanted to bring back memories of that time for a Valentine dinner. It certainly did the job. Absolutely wonderful salad! The only thing I would change is to lower the amount of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
My husband first made this for me for Valentine's Day a few years ago. We love it! It's great to take to potlucks or to a friends house for dinner. Everyone's always excited by all the colorful ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Great salad. Would have never thought to mix all these ingredients together to create something this good. Don't like Spinach, and I'm not crazy about mango, but I gave it a chance and found it to be very interesting and delicious. I was afraid this would become a bland mess of stuff mixed together, but was amazed how you can taste each and every ingredient separately and yet each one goes so well together with the others... Will be making this again SOON! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Fantastic! The dressing makes this salad zing, and it really improves if you can make it at least a few hours ahead of time. It's punch comes from the combination of pepper and mango-- I recommend using only white pepper, as it's intense bite is a nicer compliment to the mango. Yet, if you only have black pepper, you will still create a great tasting salad. We enjoy this with Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce (found on allrecipes.com)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I loved this salad! I took the previous reviewer suggestion and used white pepper. I loved the proportion of vinegar to oil. With this in mind I served this salad with Dorsey's Fried Oysters (on this site). It was absolutely perfect. Plan on making this salad tomorrow again. A great combination of flavors and beautiful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States