Goldy's Special Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Beautiful presentation and very flavorful! I used seasoned rice vinegar just because that is what I had and about 1/2 Tablespoon of sugar. It makes a huge amount of salad. Next time I will chop the ingredients smaller just so it is easier to eat and I think it will allow the flavors to marry well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This salad is outstanding. My husband compared it to salads in some of the best restaurants in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Really great presentation! Left out the avocado, and my wife vetoed the dressing after tasting it. We used a bottled light raspberry vinegarette instead. I was concerned it might be too sweet, but the salad got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
While I liked everything together the dressing was very tart, not necessarily a bad thing. I used raspberry champagne vinegar as I didn't realize I was out of white wine vinegar. I will reduce vinegar by at least half and up the sugar a tad next time which will still make enough dressing for this amount of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This salad was really good, although it definately had way too much vinegar in it! Next time I'll cut the vinegar in half and add pine nuts for crunch. Definately very good and I will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
A nice salad. I left out the tomatoes as I didn't like the idea of mangoes and tomatoes together. I found the dressing a little on the bland side, I would probably use a balsamic vinegar dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I didn't even need the vinagrette since the mango and avocado were older and kinda mushy. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I just had to add some cheese. I thought it needed just a little bit more flavor contrast. Feta this time but I think blue Cheese would be better.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I really liked this salad with Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce. Only changes I made were to substitute rice wine vinegar, and omit the mushrooms - somehow I could not stomach the idea of mushrooms with mango and avocado! Different and delicious, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I made a small change based on the reviews that didn't like the strength of the vinaigrette. I made it with rice wine vinegar, and used a little less than is called for in the recipe (2T less). No other changes, and the salad was DELICIOUS. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States