Goldenrod Egg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I'm 76 and grew up with this as an Easter supper dish. I took over with my own family, and now my children do this as well. It was always funny to find a little color in the egg whites when we had hunted them down earlier in the day. And we always just called Eggs Goldenrod. Every now and then the kids would request that we put dried chipped beef in it - a whole different and wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
TIP: Instead of pressing yolks through a sieve (which I've always found awkward), run it through a hand held cheese grinder. It doesn't come out as delicate, but I actually like it better. Also, I only process 1/4 to 1/3 the yolks for the topping and cut up the rest with the whites to add to the sauce. As others have said, this is a VERY long-standing tradition for Eater brunch in our family, and I took on the preparation the past 5 or 6 years. I'm always scrambling for the recipe on line, and doubting if I got the right one (pretty fool proof whichever you use), but this looks exactly like the one I like best. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NiftyDishes
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was super easy and we had all of the ingredients handy on a snowy morning. I used Penzy's Smoked Paprika and white pepper. My 6 year old liked it! Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yummy and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was (is) a family favorite. My mom grew up on it, she was born in 1914. I love it, converted my husband and some of my kids. We call it eggs and white sauce.And on Easter we make it with the dyed eggs for a more colorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I grew up eating this, though we usually added some fried bologna to the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I love this! Recipe came from my Grandmother from Alabama and it is a family tradition. (Especially during Lent). So glad my son lives it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Eggs Goldenrod and Baked Eggs were the main menu items on my Aunt's Christmas Morning Brunch. She was one of 5 and all the siblings had children. Many wonderful memories revolve around family get-togethers and delicious dishes shared by all the family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My mother made us Goldenrod eggs just like this. It was almost worth being home sick because she made it as a special treat to cheer us up. It was easy on the tummy, delicious, and full of protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States