Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Really yummy! We did cut back on the sugars as one reviewer recommended, used only whole wheat flour, added some cinnamon, and did not make the glaze. They were plenty sweet and I'm not sure if people were concerned about the yams - I just shredded them on a cheese grater and they do disappear into the batter while baking, similar to carrots or zucchini in similar recipes - but even more so. Fun change of pace for snack time or dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Holy deliciousness!!!! This was divine!. I used 3/4 cup granulated brown sugar, 1 cup coconut palm sugar (to replace white sugar) and added ginger & cinnamon. I used slightly less butter but all 4 eggs and I used shredded sweet potatoes (uncooked) as opposed to yams. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McCrink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Way to sweet (and that's after I reduced the sugar from the recipe). Too greasy. All you taste is sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I really loved this recipe! My husband wasn't quite a fan at first, because he loves brownies and was expecting something with chocolate. But on his second piece, he ended up liking it a lot, so I agree with the other reviewers who find the name "brownie" to be a misnomer here. I used grated fresh sweet potato (couldn't get yams), and it was just wonderful. No need to cook the yams or used the canned variety. :) I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
DEE-LISH!!! Instead of 2 tablespoons milk I added 1 tablespoon milk and 1 tablespoon lemon juice to the glaze. It didn't last long! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I only gave this recipe 4 stars for one reason: too much butter. I made this recipe to the letter, and, while delicious, there was so much grease on top when I took them out of the oven! Next time I'll follow some other reviews' changes and cut the butter w/ some applesauce. And maybe cut out one or two eggs since they were very spongy. Super tasty recipe- and you don't have to be a yam lover to agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Love sweet potatoes in many recipes. This is no exception. These are so easy to make and both times I've made them so far have come out exceptional. I've shared them with family and friends to rave reviews. I shredded the yams (sweet potatoes in my case) in the food processor and did not cook them. Don't know why you would go through the trouble to cook them. One time I let them cool before icing and the other I iced them right when they came out of the oven. They were good both ways. A little different but still excellent. The only brownies I'll make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I have just one word to describes these: Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. I was looking for a recipe to use for some frozen yam patties we had & decided to try it with this. They were so good that I can only imagine how good it will be with fresh product! Definitely a hit in my home! Even the veggie resistant 10 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The flavor was amazing! The texture was too dense - but not like brownie dense. Would have liked it more "cake like" But the flavor really is amazing! Worth a try - and will make again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States