Golden Yam Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I reduced the bach just to sample it, and they came out really moist and almost sponge-like. The only thing I may want to add in the future is a dash of nutmeg or cinnamon for more of a robust flavor. I will definitely be making these for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I used sweet potatoes instead of yams and it was excellent. Definitely one of my favorites – very moist, not too dense. It’s fairly sweet on its own, so you could probably do without the glaze if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tank Blankenship

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My family can't get enough and now I have people who want me to sell it to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious! I love sneaking vegetables into my desserts; I feel a bit less guilty knowing there's something nutritious in there. :) The sugar glaze was great on it. For my personal nutritional preferences, I did reduce the amount of glaze as well as the amount of sugar in the blondies themselves, I substituted applesauce and yogurt for half the butter, and I replaced 1/2 C of the flour with whole wheat... and I thought it still came out delicious. Light and moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was delicious. I brought half the batch to work and they were gone in less than 5 minutes. My 5year-old daughter loved the Orange Halloween cake I made and wants me to make it again. I did cut the sugar back by 3/4 c and one less egg. Also I used fresh sweet potato that steamed in microwave 1st. On our list as a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Really yummy! We did cut back on the sugars as one reviewer recommended, used only whole wheat flour, added some cinnamon, and did not make the glaze. They were plenty sweet and I'm not sure if people were concerned about the yams - I just shredded them on a cheese grater and they do disappear into the batter while baking, similar to carrots or zucchini in similar recipes - but even more so. Fun change of pace for snack time or dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Holy deliciousness!!!! This was divine!. I used 3/4 cup granulated brown sugar, 1 cup coconut palm sugar (to replace white sugar) and added ginger & cinnamon. I used slightly less butter but all 4 eggs and I used shredded sweet potatoes (uncooked) as opposed to yams. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McCrink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Way to sweet. Too greasy. All you taste is sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I really loved this recipe! My husband wasn't quite a fan at first, because he loves brownies and was expecting something with chocolate. But on his second piece, he ended up liking it a lot, so I agree with the other reviewers who find the name "brownie" to be a misnomer here. I used grated fresh sweet potato (couldn't get yams), and it was just wonderful. No need to cook the yams or used the canned variety. :) I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
DEE-LISH!!! Instead of 2 tablespoons milk I added 1 tablespoon milk and 1 tablespoon lemon juice to the glaze. It didn't last long! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States