Golden Vegetable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
Really great! I added extra cayenne and fresh garlic to kick it up a bit. I also broiled the dish at the end to give it some extra color. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. Its easy to make and has a delicious flavor! I've made this recipe several times but don't use a whole chicken but buy boned chicken already cut-up. We tend to like things spicy so I add a little more cayenne and black pepper. Thanks for this easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Made this recipe. It was awesome!!! I did increase the quantity of the spices (as we like it spiced up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
We loved this dish. I cut the carrots and sweet potatoes into small and thin pieces (they require longer cooking time) and used more potatoes. I also added some white wine while cooking because I found it too dry. I cooked it on 400F, otherwise it takes for a long time. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
I recommend the veggies get cut into same sized chunks. Thick slices of sweet potato / yams don't cook evenly with white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Yum! Used drumsticks instead of a whole chicken (skin removed), yogurt instead of mayo, 2 tomatoes, roughly diced the veggies into chunks instead of slices and doubled the marinade. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe but mainly because I changed it quite a bit. When marinading the chicken I used lots more of all the spices and used garlic puree instead of powder to form a brush-on paste. To add flavour to the potatoes, onions and carrots, I sprinkled thyme and black pepper on them. I also found that after an hour in the oven the chicken was still pink in the middle and all the vegetables looked really dried up so I poured a can of chopped tomatoes and a dash of white wine over it and cooked it for another half an hour. After that, it tasted really good and my family were really impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Well, I liked the idea of this recipe but it just didn't quite get there for me. The seasoning on the chicken, while nice, was not enough..no seasoning at all on the veggies and it was needed. Then the temperature. No way were the veggies going to cook well at 325.. I cooked at 400 for an hour and most of the veggies were done. A few of the carrots were not so unless you cut them really thinly, I would suggest cooking them a bit first. Last thing.. if I had used the amount of veggie listed in the recipe, they wouldn't have all fit in the pan... as it was with one sweet potato, one white potato, one onion and a few more carrots.. it was very full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This recipe did not work for us. It smelled delicious the whole time, but after an hour of baking, the sweet potatoes were still raw, and the chicken uncooked. The recipe was followed to the letter. Very disappointing. Now attempting to salvage dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States