Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Consistently gobbled up whenever I make this (at least once per month). Thank you Bluegirl for sharing. I sometimes add a dash of cinnamon, but ALWAYS 1t of vanilla to batter and sometimes raisins. I have made it with half whole wheat and it was still delicious. Thank you Bluegirl for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
VERY GOOD RECIPE! I DID USE BUTTER INSTEAD OF OIL I DID INCREASE TE AMOUT TO 1 STICK MELTED! MOIST AND SWEET JUST TE WAY WE LIKE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great recipe. Tastes similar, but of better quality, to the Trader Joe's boxed mix which my family likes. I followed one of the other reviewers suggestions and used half white sugar and half brown sugar and it turned out really good. My entire family enjoyed it and I ended up making a double recipe the second time I made it because it vanished so fast the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made muffins from this recipe. I followed the recipe for the batter to the letter. I used butter on my muffin pan, and the muffins were done with golden brown bottoms in about 15 minutes. They came right out of the pan, so I'm using butter from now on. I set my timer for 20 minutes, so it was a good thing I peeked in on them early! I didn't have muffin liners, but would have been hesitant to use them, since they seem stick to the finished product and leave you with less muffin to enjoy. I thought they might be too sweet with the 2/3 cup of sugar, but they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I just baked these using the suggested 1/3 c white & 1/3 c brown sugar instead of 2/3 c white. I also soaked the cornmeal at least 15 min in the cup of milk first. I used an equal mix of walnut oil and coconut oil in place of the 1/3 c vegetable oil. I sprayed a muffin tin then used paper cups and the batter made 12 muffins. Baked 18 min. in 400 degree oven and knife came out clean. Lightly browned tops. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
i've made this several times, and like a few others i find it a bit crumbly. well, last night i went to make it with chili and found that we had no veg oil! so i substituted some applesauce instead and it was even better! much more moist and tasty. i will definitely be using applesauce instead in this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Simple, easy and delicious. The perfect, classic cornbread. I didn't change a thing and it turned out great. So fast there's no need to ever buy store-made cornbread. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe...but didn't make it exactly the way the recipe said. I used half and half (but would have used buttermilk if I'd had it...I added lemon juice to half and half for the same effect)...and I added a cup of frozen corn kernels. I greased cast iron skillet with bacon grease and heated until smoking hot, then added batter and sprinkled with sea salt before putting into oven to bake. Would be great with mix ins like bell peppers and onions and jalapenos...or basil and tomatoes and parm or asiago or romano cheeses...I am sooooooooooo going to experiment with it. Love the basic recipe...so easy and wonderful! By the way, this really reminded me of corn dog batter! It was missing a bit of butter though I thought. I remedied this with topping it with melted butter and a little more salt before eating but I think substituting butter for oil in batter might fix that. It was very good even the way it was! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
For you Diabetics, or Cbef's, substitute sugar for 1/3 cup of sugar substitute(1/3 of sugar). Also for lactose intolerance and gluten issues, substitute the Milk for Almond Milk, same volume for added flavor, less flaky, and the same fulfilling flavor plus vitamins. Also makes it more of a cornbread cake using almond milk, sweet or unsweetened. Sweetened, you don't need any sugar at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGuysChef!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I didn't find this recipe as amazing as most. Fairly typical recipe, and although the flavor was fine, we didnt find it to be anything to brag about. we had a difficult time eating it as it crumbled easily. I will continue to seek out another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States