Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
We are now gluten free. I substituted Namaste's GF Perfect Flour Blend for the regular wheat flour. Although the bread didn't rise very much, the flavor was sweet and the bread itself was soft, moist, and springy (which is surprising considering the many GF failures I've had). Also used melted butter since I was out of canola oil. YUM. The kids wanted seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Makes great pancakes too! I used my left over from a 8in skillet and the pancakes were superb! I might do nothing but pancakes next time! Nice and sweet !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING! I used it for corn muffins, and they came out just like they would at any bakery. Many people say to cut the sugar, I agree ONLY if you're making savory cornbread to go with say chili. Otherwise, as a sweet treat, keep the sugar, and add maybe 3 tbsp of brown sugar. I substituted the oil with melted no salt margarine and used evaporated milk. I also threw in maybe 1/4 cup pancake mix and 1/4 cup more corn meal. Like many suggested, I also added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and a pinch more salt. Although I made a few alterations of my own, I'm sure following this recipe to the T would make equally as great muffins. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
So delicious!! Perfect sweetness and texture to pair with chili or any time I crave cornbread! Thank you for sharing your family recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Tweak alert! I used 1/3 cup agave instead of sugar. Because of this sub I had to use just a titch less milk. I found the bread a little crumbly but maybe it's supposed to be that way. Cornbread is not typical where I live so I don't really know how it should be. I do know that this was delish and especially good right out of the oven. I had some Portugal peppers in my freezer so I added one chopped to spice it up a bit. I will make this again. Thank you bluegirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and it is a great, easy cornbread recipe. Not being a 'true' southerner, I like a little sweet to my cornbread and this is just right. I do add some chopped pickled jalapenos to the batter for a little kick. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe quite a few times. I love it! I made some small changes though as I am vegan. I found that if I used unsweetened vanilla soy milk, it added a nice sweet flavor but wasn't overpowering. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and used just a touch of agave. I also used corn flour instead of cornmeal and an egg-replacer. This makes a moist and not-crumbly-at-all, super awesome cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Doubled and made in a cake pan... Used butter crisco instead of vegetable oil and added half a cup of frozen corn.. Adjusted time by about 6 minutes and Yumm-o!!! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This cornbread is bonkers!! My boyfriend and I have been making it a lot now that it is winter, aka CHILI SEASON. It is delicious!! Soft, fluffy, great taste and texture. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe was the best! I took some of the advice that some of the others had listed on here. I added 1 cup of sweet corn. Used 1/3 cup of white sugar and 1/3 cup of brown sugar, a little cinnamon and a little vanilla flavoring. I also used mini muffin pans and made sure to grease them well. I did let them cook with the oven on for about 10 minutes and then turned the oven off but let them stay in there to finish cooking. They came out perfect! Not a single 1 crumbled. Definitely will make again. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States