Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I feel there is way too much baking soda inthis recipe. I thought 3 1/2 teaspoons was a lot, but the first two reviews – all I had read – raved about it, so I followed it. Boy, was that a mistake. Even my three-year-old daughter, who has never met a carbohydrate she doesn't love, said, "I don't like this." Basically, it tasted like delicious cornbread that had been ruined by baking soda. Definitely reduce the amount; I will try again with 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used 1/2 cup of sugar. No other changes. It was de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I decided to try out this recipe and it was really easy to make. I made a few substitutions though. Instead of all purpose flour and baking powder, I used self rising flour. I substituted oil for melted butter and used half cup sugar instead of the 2/3 cup. I also added vanilla and cinnamon to spice it up. It came out fantastic for a first timer! You won't regret trying out this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe..I thought it was a little on the bland side so I added one cup of sweet corn kernels to 24 servings. It was very good. The kernels also helped it stay together when eating it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I love this recipe but like to tweek a bit myself, I use fresh ground flour I use whole wheat flour made with hard white wheat, the sweetener is honey powder, but last but not least I make my own fresh ground cornmeal made with white popcorn kernels it makes a wonderful cornmeal wow what a difference fresh ground ingredients makes. My wife for the most part dislikes cornbread but she loves mine. The flour and cornmeal I sift with a very fine mesh sifter. It makes for a very fine powder both the flour and cornmeal which makes the cornbread very light and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this cornbread yesterday to have with chicken and white bean chili. We LOVED it. I did make some modifications due to our dietary needs. I have been searching for months for a recipe that would hold up to substituting whole wheat flour for white, since that is all we use, and we have found a winner. :) I took a reviewer's advice and soaked the cornmeal in the milk for half an hour before mixing the ingredients. I used organic sugar and cut the amount to 1/4 cup. I also used 1/2 cup butter to avoid the dryness some reviewers complained of. The result was a moist, slightly sweet and delicious cornbread. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Superior corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I couldn't stop eating the cornbread! I used gluten free flour and less sugar and it tasted wonderful. Mine did not crumble. This is a for sure life time recipe in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Good sweet cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very moist and flavorful, a great cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States