Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I feel there is way too much baking soda inthis recipe. I thought 3 1/2 teaspoons was a lot, but the first two reviews – all I had read – raved about it, so I followed it. Boy, was that a mistake. Even my three-year-old daughter, who has never met a carbohydrate she doesn't love, said, "I don't like this." Basically, it tasted like delicious cornbread that had been ruined by baking soda. Definitely reduce the amount; I will try again with 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used 1/2 cup of sugar. No other changes. It was de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I decided to try out this recipe and it was really easy to make. I made a few substitutions though. Instead of all purpose flour and baking powder, I used self rising flour. I substituted oil for melted butter and used half cup sugar instead of the 2/3 cup. I also added vanilla and cinnamon to spice it up. It came out fantastic for a first timer! You won't regret trying out this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe..I thought it was a little on the bland side so I added one cup of sweet corn kernels to 24 servings. It was very good. The kernels also helped it stay together when eating it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I love this recipe but like to tweek a bit myself, I use fresh ground flour I use whole wheat flour made with hard white wheat, the sweetener is honey powder, but last but not least I make my own fresh ground cornmeal made with white popcorn kernels it makes a wonderful cornmeal wow what a difference fresh ground ingredients makes. My wife for the most part dislikes cornbread but she loves mine. The flour and cornmeal I sift with a very fine mesh sifter. It makes for a very fine powder both the flour and cornmeal which makes the cornbread very light and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this cornbread yesterday to have with chicken and white bean chili. We LOVED it. I did make some modifications due to our dietary needs. I have been searching for months for a recipe that would hold up to substituting whole wheat flour for white, since that is all we use, and we have found a winner. :) I took a reviewer's advice and soaked the cornmeal in the milk for half an hour before mixing the ingredients. I used organic sugar and cut the amount to 1/4 cup. I also used 1/2 cup butter to avoid the dryness some reviewers complained of. The result was a moist, slightly sweet and delicious cornbread. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheriann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Superior corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I couldn't stop eating the cornbread! I used gluten free flour and less sugar and it tasted wonderful. Mine did not crumble. This is a for sure life time recipe in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Good sweet cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very moist and flavorful, a great cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States