Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is excellent cornbread! I use 1/3 c. white and 1/3 c. brown sugar, and I let the cornmeal soak in the milk for 10-15 minutes before mixing with the other ingredients. I've also replaced the vegetable oil with melted butter, which works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This works as cornbread muffins, too! I am not a huge fan of making cornbread as a round or square cake shape… they just are too messy that way. Instead I like to pour the batter into muffin tins lined with cupcake/muffin papers. This recipe works great as muffins. I pour the batter almost to the very top of the paper liners then I bake this at 375 degrees, but I have a convection oven so the heat is usually 25 degrees less than the normal temperature… so you can cook it at the suggested heat of 400 degrees with a normal oven. It takes 20-23 minutes for a toothpick to come out clean. The tops are always nicely browned and the muffins are perfectly cooked. The only other minor change I make is I use a medium grind cornmeal that is a little more course. It makes the cornbread more like a true “comfort food”. If you don’t like that extra crunch then use a finer grind. EVERYONE loves this- it is always on request from my guests and family, “Can you make your special cornbread?” It only takes about 5 minutes if you use a stand mixer. Very easy and very yummy! People will love that you made this from scratch. Oh yeah, and for you calorie nuts: I have calculated that if you make 12 muffins out of this batter, it runs about 180 calories per muffin or 2160 for the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Well, needles to say, you'd sure be hard pressed to come up with a better cornbread recipe. It's excellent! Suberb! I've read all 84 + reviews and have learned the following additional options: I can bake it in a muffin pan (bake only 15 minutes); I can cut back on my sugar to maybe a round 1/2-cup (or less). I can add just a smidgen more salt. I can add a 1/2 t. vanilla. Add I can also add just a little bit more oil (so it's not quite so crumbly). The next time I bake this for our gang, I'm going to add all of the above -- I'll be bold and daring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1040 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is THE best cornbread recipe. Look no further!! I did cut down on the sugar a little. (It's still sweet) Delicious with butter and honey on it. Fantastic accompaniment to soup or stew or beans or even makes a great breakfast! *****This recipe gets a 5 Star rating from MontanaRecipes*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE MANY TIMES AND EACH TIME IT WAS MADE, PEOPLE WANTED THE RECIPE. BY THE TIME YOUR OVEN PRE HEATS, THE INGREDIENTS ARE MIXED AND READY TO BE PLACED IN THE OVEN!! DON"T EVER THINK OF USING A BOXED RECIPE. THIS IS JUST AS EASY, BETTER TASTING AND LOWER IN FAT. USE IT FOR A THANKSGIVING GATHERING OR JUST FOR EVERY DAY. YOU ARE DEFINITELY IT FOR A TREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is the best cornbread ever!!! It's so easy to make too. I did use 1/3 Cup powdered milk and 1 Cup water for the milk to save money. I also used canola oil instead of the vegetable oil. I didn't like cornbread very much until I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Awesome cornbread! I used melted butter instead of oil and lowfat buttermilk vs. milk. It was light, fluffy and went great with ribs and the left overs were great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
After reading some of the previous reviews, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and the baking powder to 2 tsp. The muffins baked well and tasted good... not extraordinary... but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made this as-written and it was delicious! Very moist, great texture, and just the right amount of sweetness. You will not be disappointed! *Side note: I dont understand why people change the recipe and take away stars from their rating based on that. Make the recipe as-is and then decide. Dont give a bad rating based on changes you made or how you THINK it would have turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This didn't last long in my house! This is the recipe I will be using from now on. It is moist and has just the right sweetness. I also reduced the baking powder to 2 tsp. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States