Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and it is a great, easy cornbread recipe. Not being a 'true' southerner, I like a little sweet to my cornbread and this is just right. I do add some chopped pickled jalapenos to the batter for a little kick. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe quite a few times. I love it! I made some small changes though as I am vegan. I found that if I used unsweetened vanilla soy milk, it added a nice sweet flavor but wasn't overpowering. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and used just a touch of agave. I also used corn flour instead of cornmeal and an egg-replacer. This makes a moist and not-crumbly-at-all, super awesome cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Doubled and made in a cake pan... Used butter crisco instead of vegetable oil and added half a cup of frozen corn.. Adjusted time by about 6 minutes and Yumm-o!!! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This cornbread is bonkers!! My boyfriend and I have been making it a lot now that it is winter, aka CHILI SEASON. It is delicious!! Soft, fluffy, great taste and texture. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe was the best! I took some of the advice that some of the others had listed on here. I added 1 cup of sweet corn. Used 1/3 cup of white sugar and 1/3 cup of brown sugar, a little cinnamon and a little vanilla flavoring. I also used mini muffin pans and made sure to grease them well. I did let them cook with the oven on for about 10 minutes and then turned the oven off but let them stay in there to finish cooking. They came out perfect! Not a single 1 crumbled. Definitely will make again. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missi
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
first time i made cornbread and this recipe turned out great, super easy to make! will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
i like to add a dallop of yogurt to the batter. its not dry or crumbly and just plain awesome. oh, i do cut the sugar in half. i have used cake flour instead of reg and its a softer crumb. either way this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've been baking cornbread for my family for over 35 years. The recipe I was using was very good, but had too many steps to accomplish a great end result. I wanted to make a change to a simpler recipe and decided to try this one. I wasn't very impressed at all. My original recipe separated three eggs where I mixed the batter with the yolks, then had to whip the whites into a meringue & fold into the batter. This recipe used only one whole egg, but was a bit on the salty side, including the small amount of batter left behind in the bowl. The finished product came up tasting salty and dry, even with an addition of vanilla that I added after the wet ingredients were incorporated because it lacked flavor. I'm going back to my standby recipe, which has never disappointed me. As the old saying goes, "if it isn't broken, don't fix it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
very sweet and moist, i cooked them for 17 minutes in a muffin pan and they are wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
easy to follow and never fails, just an overall awesome and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susuberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States