Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Have been using the recipe for a couple of years. Really really good. Never fails to get compliments! Make it exactly like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Super yummy! Super easy! Super fast! This is some great cornbread. The first time I made it, it was a bit too sweet for us. Cut the sugar in half, not sweet enough. Used 1/3 cup plus half of a 1/3 cup (I don't math haha)... just right. I've also made it missing ingredients: extra light olive oil or shortening instead of the veggie oil, 1/4 cup extra milk when I didn't have an egg, and it came out great. I didn't have a "crumble problem", don't know why. I do let mine "rest" a bit before I stick it in the oven. Best way to eat it... crumble into a glass, pour in the milk, drizzle with a little honey. Deeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It turned out great. I subbed mayo for the oil in the same measurement (thinking how moist my cakes turn out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Since I found this recipe for cornbread it's the only one I use. It is the best tasting, moist and easy to make cornbread ever, better than all of the TV country cooks' recipes for cornbread. I also cut the sugar a bit but it didn't make a difference, it still tasted delicious. If you love cornbread (and who doesn't?), you should try this recipe. I eat it with local honey. Yum... Also made corn muffins with same recipe, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Moreschi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Hays-Hines
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I thought some homemade cornbread would go great with my husband's famous fried chicken, so I tried this recipe. I've never made cornbread before but this recipe is so simple and delicious. Whether you're a beginner or a pro you'll LOVE this recipe. If you're skeptical about using sour cream don't be, I'm not personally a s.c. person but I followed the recipe and it turned out extremely moist. With some recipes the bread can come out dry and crumbly but not this one! I have written it down for future use and with Fall approaching in the next few months can't think of anything better than this to go with chili or any cool night with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hays-Hines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This no fail recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
More like a cake than cornbread. Tasted okay, we ate it so it wouldn't go to waste but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Everyone loved this! I followed the recipe exactly except 3/4 cup flour 1 and 1/4 cup cornmeal. Delicious!!! If I don't make buttermilk cornbread, this is my new go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Best sweet cornbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I had lost my Mother's cornbread recipe and was delighted to find this one that was almost an exact match. Sweet and tasty, although I might try cutting the sugar back a tiny bit. I think this is a good basic recipe to which you could add jalapeño or cut corn or rosemary or anything else that works with cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Kolesaire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States