Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I rarely rate recipes, I just save and reuse them. This recipe is wonderful. The only thing I did different was used my home ground corn meal. It is a little denser than store bought. I soaked it in milk for an hour, to soften it. I also added a 1/3 cup of corn and a few jalapeno slices . My family likes that, in their cornbread. Saved and will share with family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
400° burnt the bread :-( So I recommend - 375° ? (40 miners doubled) - Buttermilk (instead of milk) - Butter (instead of oil) - Raw sugar (instead of white, or brown its has a stronger molasses flavor) - Soak the cornmeal in the milk for 10+ min *And the biggest suggestion, doubble the recipe because it is SOOO GOOD! Thanks @Bluegirl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Tillie
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Love this recipe. Great tasting, moist with great texture! Easy to follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe and so does everyone I make it for. The only problem is I can't take credit for coming up with it myself. Tastes great as muffins, and yummy with a little honey and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I use it all the time. Great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
It was very good, as it is only me and my daughter I cut the recipe in 1/2 and added jalapeno, cheese and 1 tblsp of sour cream. Best corn bread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
An Easy, great recipe with outstanding results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I liked this cornbread. It was a little crumbly but it tasted good and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin K.
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Just made this, it was super easy and tastes great, a little sweet. I made it in a cast iron skillet , 400* for 20 minutes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
We're used to Jiffy in the box for is ease of prep. Tried out something new as I had cornmeal in the cupboard. Simple, easy and delicious! We put ours in a 9 inch pie pan. Great recipe! Next time, I'd like to add cheese and jalapenos. It's not too sweet either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,921) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States