Golden State Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious and so simple. Sautéed celery with onion and added a little white wine, tarragon and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My favorite recipe on this site. I've made it more times than I can count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Thank you, David, for creating and submitting this recipe. I would never have searched for a mushroom soup recipe except I once again bought way too many mushrooms when Aldi's had them on sale at .59 cents for 8 ounces. But I sure am glad I did. Your recipe was an inspriration for a delicious batch of soup I made yesterday following some of the suggestions of other reviewers. I sauteed the onions for quite a bit then added some minced garlic and sauteed some more before adding the mushrooms. I used beef broth and beef soup base instead of chicken broth and granules, added a few shakes of worchestershire sauce, some dried basil, oregano, parsley and a few shakes of cayenne, subbed part of the milk for heavy cream and used only half the amount of sour cream. Took this batch to my sister's yesterday and the two of us devoured it. She was very impressed and requested the recipe from me. We both thought it was as good as anything you could get in a restaurant and we would proudly serve this at a dinner party. It was so good that I made a double batch today and plan on making it many more times! So try the recipe as written or with your own tweaks and I doubt you will be disappointed. Thanks again, David, for such a scrumptious and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
As is, the recipe is 4 stars, but with a couple minor tweaks, it becomes a solid 5 star recipe. When cooking the mushrooms and onions down, add a good glug of sherry and sprinkle some dried tarragon in as well. If you want to make it vegetarian compatible, simply swap vegetable broth for the chicken broth - it tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Hubby just mentioned he wanted a mushroom onion soup after a really hard day and I lucked up and found this before he even got home. It's the perfect ratio of ingredients which is pretty much all I use a recipe for. I slivered my onions, like a french onion soup. I used coconut oil with a little butter. I sauteed mushrooms just a handful at a time so they would brown. I then deglazed all the goodness on the bottom of the pan with red wine vinegar and beef broth and beef boullion. Mushrooms and beef seem like the perfect pair. Then the whole bit simmered with added garlic and fresh thyme. So yeah I changed some things but those measurements were right on and a perfect start - THANK YOU SO MUCH. Hubby said it was exactly what he was imagining and WE made it happen, Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Love this soup. The base also makes a really good potato soup just boil the potato ahead and add them to the creamy soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Husband told me I can make this soup again any time I wanted to!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very tasty! I added a little garlic powder to it, otherwise it was great! Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNPYRUNNER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Love it, Love it!!! Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States