Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Interesting cake, but not outstanding. It does resemble a Twinkie. I made it for a get-together and was disappointed that no one made any favorable comments about it nor requested the recipe. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I made this cake for our cook-out over the Memorial weekend. I followed the suggestion to make it a day ahead. It was FANTASTIC!!!! All of my guests couldn't wait to try it and all agreed it tasted like a Twinkie, but even better. I used a Duncan Hines yellow cake mix. I think Duncan Hines are the best cake mixes. The filling was fabulous and went together easily although you need to be prepared to beat it for several minutes. I agree it needed to be a tad sweeter and I ended up adding maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons of sugar. I made it Saturday afternoon and we ate it Sunday afternoon. I saved back a piece for myself and ate it Monday night. It was even better then. The second time I made this cake, I did it for church treats. I baked the cake mix in two cookie sheets. It was very thin. I doubled the filling and topped one cake with the other. They looked exactly like Little Debbie Banana Twins after I cut them. The entire church went crazy over the cake. One Lady said she had never had wedding cake that tasted as good. I will make this cake again and again and again.......Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I had to add more butter and sugar to the filling to make it taste right, but I think my shortening may have been a little old and was distorting the taste. Once I got the filling to taste right, it was really good. I used dental floss to cut through the middle of the cake, and it worked like a charm! Definately make this a day ahead. The longer it sat the more it tasted like a Twinkie. We ate a little each day for five days, and it tasted good up until the last day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
I too have had this same recipe for years. When I slice the cake in two, I cut the cake in half first. That way you can remove the top from each side easier. I also make sure I have enough left to frost the top with it too. This is THE favorite birthday cake with my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
good- yum, yum fyi- a cake cutter can be purchased at a craft store for about $3. this will make spliting cakes lenghtwise sooo extremely effortless-reminds you of a cheese slicer just a bunch bigger :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is awesome! The only change I made was I added 1/4 cup sugar to make the filling slightly sweeter. I used devil's food cake and made Suzy Q's and it tasted just like the real ones only better. For a variation, I divided the yellow cake (I used the butter recipe cake mix) and added 2 teas. banana extract to the cake mix and 2 teas. to the filling and made Banana Flips. It was incredible! Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
While it's not really the flavor of a Twinkie, this stuff is TOO GOOD. Be sure to follow the "curing process" of letting the cake sit in the refrigerator and then for a day or so out of the 'fridge. I tried the cake as soon as I filled it and topped -- it was o.k. -- two days later, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This cake was quite a hit at my office. I made it for our August birthday celebration and now I have been requested to make it again for the Sept party. I used about a 1/4 cup more sugar in the filling (I recommend tasting as you go). I wrapped it in saran and refrigerated it for about 36 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I made this in a Bundt pan and piped the filling into the middle with a pastry bag. Much better than a twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Great Twinkie style Cream Filling! Instead of cake method I made cupcakes and then piped filling inside with a pastry tip. Grandkids loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States