Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
FANTASTIC. This my new favorite dessert recipe! I made it with devil's food cake mix instead, and it tasted just like a suzy-q. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONKADOODLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I admit, I always taste everything I make as soon as it's done to make sure it's good. But this cake definitely is better the next day as the recipe says! The filling is a little work to make, but turns out yummy. (Didn't taste like a Twinkie to me, but still good.) I even had enough to frost the top. Cutting a 9 by 13 cake in half lengthwise is not easy!! I think next time I will make 2 round cakes instead as previously suggested. That will make it a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
awesome!!!! always the hit of the party. lots of compliments. hint: follow the directions and make sure to refridgerate 24 hrs before cutting and serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Delicious! I also made using Devil's Food Cake Mix. Tasted like a Ho Ho or Devil Dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I made this cake for our cook-out over the Memorial weekend. I followed the suggestion to make it a day ahead. It was FANTASTIC!!!! All of my guests couldn't wait to try it and all agreed it tasted like a Twinkie, but even better. I used a Duncan Hines yellow cake mix. I think Duncan Hines are the best cake mixes. The filling was fabulous and went together easily although you need to be prepared to beat it for several minutes. I agree it needed to be a tad sweeter and I ended up adding maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons of sugar. I made it Saturday afternoon and we ate it Sunday afternoon. I saved back a piece for myself and ate it Monday night. It was even better then. The second time I made this cake, I did it for church treats. I baked the cake mix in two cookie sheets. It was very thin. I doubled the filling and topped one cake with the other. They looked exactly like Little Debbie Banana Twins after I cut them. The entire church went crazy over the cake. One Lady said she had never had wedding cake that tasted as good. I will make this cake again and again and again.......Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
A hit at the parties. Both kids and adults love it. I had trouble slicing the cake lengthwise, so on my second attempt, I used to 9 inch rounds and put the filling between them. Much easier for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I made this for my friend who is "addicted" to twinkies...he now wants the cake instead. Grandkids want if for birthdays. I use a "butter" recipe cake mix for a very rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I made this for my daughter's birthday. Yum! The leftover cake stayed moist and delicious for days and I didn't want to keep eating it but I couldn't help myself! The filling was delicious even though it is extremely bad for the waistline! It was wonderful though and tasted even better than a Twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Unbelievably tastes like a twinkie!!! This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was ok, might make again. It only sorta tasted like a twinkie, but it was good in its own way. Definitely need to make it at least 24 hours ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States