Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
This was one of the most popular cakes I've ever made. My sister who is a Twinkie fanatic LOVED it! It got her through the "Great Twinkie Famine". I will make this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
While it's not really the flavor of a Twinkie, this stuff is TOO GOOD. Be sure to follow the "curing process" of letting the cake sit in the refrigerator and then for a day or so out of the 'fridge. I tried the cake as soon as I filled it and topped -- it was o.k. -- two days later, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I was skeptical, but the cake turned out great, and without that chemical Twinkie after-taste!! It stayed moist for days. Carol has great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
This cake really tasted like a Twinkie. But, it is a bit of a challenge to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Great cake. Tastes like Twinkies, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Interesting cake, but not outstanding. It does resemble a Twinkie. I made it for a get-together and was disappointed that no one made any favorable comments about it nor requested the recipe. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This recipe turned out to be a childhood favorite that a friend had been searching for. She was thrilled when I surprised her with it. I think it will be a childhood fave of my kids also. Everyone loved it! It disappeared in a hurry. We'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Great Twinkie style Cream Filling! Instead of cake method I made cupcakes and then piped filling inside with a pastry tip. Grandkids loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
my kids loved it and it was super easy to put together. I did as others had suggested and left the twinkies whole. I am sure I'll make this again for the kids. (too sweet for me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I had to add more butter and sugar to the filling to make it taste right, but I think my shortening may have been a little old and was distorting the taste. Once I got the filling to taste right, it was really good. I used dental floss to cut through the middle of the cake, and it worked like a charm! Definately make this a day ahead. The longer it sat the more it tasted like a Twinkie. We ate a little each day for five days, and it tasted good up until the last day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States