Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
This was one of the most popular cakes I've ever made. My sister who is a Twinkie fanatic LOVED it! It got her through the "Great Twinkie Famine". I will make this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
While it's not really the flavor of a Twinkie, this stuff is TOO GOOD. Be sure to follow the "curing process" of letting the cake sit in the refrigerator and then for a day or so out of the 'fridge. I tried the cake as soon as I filled it and topped -- it was o.k. -- two days later, it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I was skeptical, but the cake turned out great, and without that chemical Twinkie after-taste!! It stayed moist for days. Carol has great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
This cake really tasted like a Twinkie. But, it is a bit of a challenge to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Great cake. Tastes like Twinkies, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Interesting cake, but not outstanding. It does resemble a Twinkie. I made it for a get-together and was disappointed that no one made any favorable comments about it nor requested the recipe. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This recipe turned out to be a childhood favorite that a friend had been searching for. She was thrilled when I surprised her with it. I think it will be a childhood fave of my kids also. Everyone loved it! It disappeared in a hurry. We'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Great Twinkie style Cream Filling! Instead of cake method I made cupcakes and then piped filling inside with a pastry tip. Grandkids loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
my kids loved it and it was super easy to put together. I did as others had suggested and left the twinkies whole. I am sure I'll make this again for the kids. (too sweet for me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I had to add more butter and sugar to the filling to make it taste right, but I think my shortening may have been a little old and was distorting the taste. Once I got the filling to taste right, it was really good. I used dental floss to cut through the middle of the cake, and it worked like a charm! Definately make this a day ahead. The longer it sat the more it tasted like a Twinkie. We ate a little each day for five days, and it tasted good up until the last day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States