Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I made this as a Bundt cake. I didn't let hubby touch it for two days thanks to previous reviews. It was tough to keep him away, but well worth it. What a delicious and unusual cake! The filling does take a little effort but is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
I too have had this same recipe for years. When I slice the cake in two, I cut the cake in half first. That way you can remove the top from each side easier. I also make sure I have enough left to frost the top with it too. This is THE favorite birthday cake with my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I made the twinkie filling for a birthday party for a five year old and it was a hit! I was asked to make several other birthday cakes. I added a little powder sugar to the filling to make it a tad sweeter and added a little extra vanilla when I did the milk and flour base. Once again excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
My family loved it. Other cake mix flavors can be used. Chocolate is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This cake was quite a hit at my office. I made it for our August birthday celebration and now I have been requested to make it again for the Sept party. I used about a 1/4 cup more sugar in the filling (I recommend tasting as you go). I wrapped it in saran and refrigerated it for about 36 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I made this in a Bundt pan and piped the filling into the middle with a pastry bag. Much better than a twinkie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I had to add more butter and sugar to the filling to make it taste right, but I think my shortening may have been a little old and was distorting the taste. Once I got the filling to taste right, it was really good. I used dental floss to cut through the middle of the cake, and it worked like a charm! Definately make this a day ahead. The longer it sat the more it tasted like a Twinkie. We ate a little each day for five days, and it tasted good up until the last day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
my kids loved it and it was super easy to put together. I did as others had suggested and left the twinkies whole. I am sure I'll make this again for the kids. (too sweet for me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Great Twinkie style Cream Filling! Instead of cake method I made cupcakes and then piped filling inside with a pastry tip. Grandkids loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This recipe turned out to be a childhood favorite that a friend had been searching for. She was thrilled when I surprised her with it. I think it will be a childhood fave of my kids also. Everyone loved it! It disappeared in a hurry. We'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States