Golden Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Like another reviewer, I also had trouble cutting, then reassembling the cake. I think it would be much easier to use two 9inch cake pans instead. However, I will not be trying this one again b/c my filling turned out to be lumpy and runny and I followed the instructions exactly. As well, all of my ingredients were at room temperature so I don't know what went wrong. Needless to say, I was very disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEMINIBAKER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
AWESOME cake, thanks so much for the recipe. Delicious. I made it for my mom's birthday and she loved it, so thanks for the recipe to a special cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I'm only rating the filling because I made a sponge cake for this recipe. One out of six people thought this was O.K. but the rest of us didn't like it at all. For me personally, knowing that there was shortening in the filling just kind of sent me over the edge. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
WOW!!! So good and very easy. Similar to the Giant Ding Dong Cake on this site. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
good- yum, yum fyi- a cake cutter can be purchased at a craft store for about $3. this will make spliting cakes lenghtwise sooo extremely effortless-reminds you of a cheese slicer just a bunch bigger :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
family loves this cake...have also increased the filling part of the recipe by 1/2 ...UPDATE: still do the increased filling recipe, using it as frosting on top. Recommend making it the day before, and then bringing it to almost-room-temperature before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was just okay I was expecting something great from the reviews but didn't get it. The filling was too runny from beating it that long. The cake was not easy to assemble, adn was well...a mess. I sould've refrigerated the cake and the filling for about an hour before attempting to assemble it and it would've been much easier to work with. I refrigerated the mess that I had made and then re-assembled it the next day. Wasn't pretty but tasted okay. Sort of tasted like a twinkie, but I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Excellent and fun cake! My boyfriend, family, and friends ask for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is awesome! The only change I made was I added 1/4 cup sugar to make the filling slightly sweeter. I used devil's food cake and made Suzy Q's and it tasted just like the real ones only better. For a variation, I divided the yellow cake (I used the butter recipe cake mix) and added 2 teas. banana extract to the cake mix and 2 teas. to the filling and made Banana Flips. It was incredible! Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
FANTASTIC. This my new favorite dessert recipe! I made it with devil's food cake mix instead, and it tasted just like a suzy-q. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONKADOODLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States