Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by acetopia74
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It is a great recipe. Added about a tablespoon more of vanilla pudding and hmmmm delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it for several years. I use a mini fluted pan (courtesy Pampered Chef) and cook for about 35 min. When it's done, I give it as gifts to my staff. Since it's at work I use rum emulsion instead of the real stuff for the glaze (still real rum in the cake). It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysa Chandler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Awesome cake. Put lots of pecans instead of walnuts. Luv this cake. Instead of water, I put more rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Been making it for 3 years now. It has become a staple at family gatherings throughout the year. I make a few adjustments: buttermilk instead of water, softened butter in place of the oil, and a mixture of dark rum and coconut rum. I do follow the suggestion to remove cake from pan, pour 1/2 the glaze in the bottom, poke holes in the cake (using kebob skewers), and then place the cake back in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is a Christmas tradition! I never change a thing, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hadsel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was super easy. Moist and taste great. My friends and family loved it I had to make 2 more. Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpixa
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe, simple with not a lot of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpixa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I kept with the water instead of using milk because I have a very lactose intolerant family, so I try to cut back on as much dairy as I can. I also made a few changes, used coconut pudding instead of the vanilla pudding and I used Myers dark rum for the cake and glaze. Neither of the changes effected the flavor and everyone agreed it was the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used pineapple cake mix, coconut pudding, Goslings black rum, skim milk instead of water, and 3/4 granulated sugar 1/4 light brown sugar. Like some others I mixed in the rum about a minute early with the glaze to burn off some of the alcohol. Also put a dash of vanilla in the batter and the glaze. Turned up great. Will try it with yellow, lemon, and coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Have been making this cake for ages. I do have questions now. The nuts always seem to stick to the bottom of the pan. Anyone else have this problem? Then I tried to use Pam cooking spray instead of butter to grease the pan-huge mistake -had to almost scrape them out of the Bundt pan. Also when I do the glaze I leave the cake in the pan and pour the glaze into the pan then turn it out when it is cool. Maybe this is why the nuts stick? This recipe is fabulous.Lastly this year I bought smaller Bundt pans-1 packaged cake mix was enough for 2 of the pans-so each recipe made 2 cakes. I wrapped them up and gave them as gifts. I would love to send them by mail to people and see that someone wrote they did mail them and they got there fine. How do you mail them? I assume in a tin of some kind?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,027) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States