Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and was the BEST cake I've ever made! Can't wait to make it and share it again and again...be prepared to get a ton of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is DELISH for box cake :) Will make again, simple and good, how can you go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. I only had about half as much sugar for this recipe. I substituted brown sugar and liked it so much that I think I will do it again! Also, I substituted pecans, because I prefer them to the nuts in the recipe. It was a huge hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have used allrecipes.com for about 3 years now and this is the 1st time I have given a review...but this recipe deserved it! The cake is "the most delicious cake I've ever had" by many friends and family. Only modifications..I used GLAZED pecans, I spread butter and dusted sugar the bundt pan. I used Spiced 100 proof rum (because the higher the proof the smoother the taste). I used Golden Butter cake mix and french vanilla pudding mix. I used an onion holder "poker" and made many holes in the cake after taking out of oven. I left it in pan and drizzled glaze all over and covered with foil and let soak in overnight. Next day sliced and served. Even better served warmed up with butter pecan (or bourbon pecan praline Haagen Das) ice cream. You may want to cut back on the rum in the glaze a little if you don't like rum(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The cake turned out very well! The glaze was great, too, but I think next time I am going to use a little less rum, like maybe third of a cup of rum and two thirds cup of water, because it was really strong. I guess it could be the rum I have. We're not very knowledgeable about alcohol, so we just asked at the liquor store what kind they recommended for cooking with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelani54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Great recipe. I liked it best with spiced rum. Used milk instead of water on third try and much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Huge hit with all who tried it. Substituted toasted pecans for the walnuts. Used Pyrat dark rum. I love the idea of poking holes in the top/bottom so the glaze can seep down inside. Super easy and came out perfectly. This recipe is a keeper! For people who don't love the strong flavor of the rum glaze, add the rum before it's done cooking so the alcohol burns off a bit. You can also leave the rum out of the glaze and make a rum-flavored whipped cream to accompany for those who appreciate a nice rum flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Made this last week - I used Captain Morgan rum in both the cake and the glaze, because its what I had on hand. I used pecans because I like them better and had no walnuts. I also used coconut cream pudding mix instead of vanilla, and in the glaze I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I baked it for 50 minutes - more would have dried it out. The glaze was absorbed within an hour. Putting the cake back into the pan was the charm. My husband and I LOVED this cake - it was gone in 2 days! Great recipe - is good as it is yet yields easily to changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have used this recipe many times and it's wonderful. What I started doing was trying different liquors. Last one I made was a Butter Pecan cake with Praline Pecan liquor. Absolutely amazing!! This recipe lends itself to experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I used Captain Morgan Spiced Rum in the batter and Appleton Estate's Special in the glaze. We thought the rum was overpowering, would use less in the glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States