Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Made this for my husband's birthday. First time making rum cake. I'm not fond of rum cake but I can't stay away from it! So good and moist. I used puerto rican rum because that's what I had. Didn't use nuts. Used carving fork to poke holes in bottom of cake. The glaze didn't go all the way through but it doesn't really matter bc the cake is sooo moist! However I will try chop stix next time as another review suggested. Others commented that the cake tastes better with age... IT'S TRUE! Made it two days ago and it's even better today! Will make again! Yum! Ps I only used 1/2 the rum for the glaze bc I didn't want it to be too overpowering, glad i did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is so easy to make! It is fantastic, people go crazy for it! I use a Bermuda Black Rum called Gosling's Black Seal, it is the perfect rum cake rum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
My whole family loves this recipe; we've been having it for years at Christmas but it has become the favourite for birthdays as well. I cook all of the rum in the glaze to burn off the alcohol so that my 6 and 9 year old can have it, they love it! I pour most of the glaze into the bundt pan and replace the cake and the pour some glaze over the bottom...all of the glaze soaks in this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this rum cake a few months ago for a family party. What a hit! Since then it has been requested 4 times. I followed the recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
So moist and delicious, we skipped the nuts. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. I brought it on a multi- family vacation. Young adults were sneaking into our house to get some. One even asked me if I would just give him the rest of it behind everyone else's back! Haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
ADD MORE RUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The cake was good, but I was not a fan of the glaze (it was almost bitter). The rum cake aficionados in my family said it was great, though! Very moist and with the perfect amount of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is a really good cake, everyone is always asking me to make this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and was the BEST cake I've ever made! Can't wait to make it and share it again and again...be prepared to get a ton of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States