Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Simple to make. Simpler than I would have guessed! Tastes delicious Lots of helpful reviews - read them and take their advice (fat free milk instead of water, rum brands, cake brands, pudding brands)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a favorite that I am noted for...easy and Delicious! I use french vanilla pudding and add 1/2 tsp. of vanilla for a little extra ooomph...always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
OMG, I've made about 6 of these so far! This cake is everyone's favorite. I made one three days ago and sent with my husband who works in NY (we live in FL), and tonight I made two, one of which will be FedEx'd to a colleague in Seattle. This rum cake is awesome. I add 1/2 c of milk to the posted recipe, to make it super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I love rum cake. I have to say I had a problem with the cake falling too much and in a weird pattern after being removed from the oven. I think it tastes good and i do not have an issue with the amount of rum. Has anyone had the same problem with the cake falling? is it due to not mixing the pudding and cake mix enough?? Any feedback would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Yum! This was the very 1 st cake I have ever made and it turned out Great!!! Super easy and everyone loved the cake:) Thanks Jackie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the exact recipe I've been using for years. The only thing that I do different is when I take the cake out of the oven, I IMMEDIATELY pour the hot glaze mixture over the top of the cake while it is still in the pan. This way it settles the cake and soaks in all of that rum goodness. Wait 30 minutes before inverting onto your serving plate. It's always better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Deeee-lish! I cut the glaze in 1/2 the 2nd time I made it. The full amount is way too much unless you want the cake to weigh 10lbs :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this cake for my stepmom's birthday, at her request. I'm not one who typically bakes a cake from a boxed mix but I've go to tell you, this went over extremely well with the group who devoured it. I used pecans instead of walnuts (stepmom's request) and used Captain Morgan spiced rum which was just fine in this. Very moist and flavorful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Only goes this cake is amazing not one you want to make all the time though because it is far from being at all good for you...everyone always loves it though... I used lite rum because that is all I had and it still turned out great.... Next time I will follow the advice of the other reviewers and poke holes in the cake pour half the glaze in the pan and let it soak in... Great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this. Putting the cake back in the pan with the rum sauce really is brilliant. That said some of my family find the sauce overpowering...just a caution if you will serving this to anyone who might not appreciate the flavor. I have made this twice...the 2nd time I used butterscotch pudding and mixed in a cup of butterscotch chips. It was good but honestly the cake is already great as is. So while it was fun to experiment. I will probably stick with the recipe as written from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States